The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/tar-creek.html

The Observatory · Case 69 · Environment · 1900 to 2025

Tar Creek / Picher Superfund Site (Ottawa County, Oklahoma, 1900 to 2025)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-25
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=tar-creek
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

A century of lead and zinc mining left chat piles, flooded mines and lead-contaminated yards in northeast Oklahoma; after Superfund listing in 1983 and a 2009 to 2012 buyout of Picher and nearby towns, EPA's 2025 review says work is under way but not complete.

In brief

Lead and zinc mining around Picher, Oklahoma, ran from about 1900 into the 1960s and left tunnels, shafts and large piles of mine waste called chat. EPA listed the Tar Creek site as a Superfund site in 1983. Children were tested for lead in the 1990s, and a federal health agency found that 31.2% of those tested in 1996 had elevated blood lead, compared with 2.8% in 2003, while warning the sample was not representative. From 2009 to 2012, 628 residences, 74 businesses and 125 renters were voluntarily relocated from four towns. EPA's 2025 five-year review says the yard and mine-waste cleanups are expected to be protective only when finished, that no plan yet exists for the creek and river sediment, and that some deed notices are missing. The Quapaw Nation shares in the work. The record shows real progress and unfinished work. It does not prove that any one person's illness came from the site.

The record

The place and the mining

Remedy structure (EPA 2025 review)

| Operable unit (OU) | What it covers | Decision record | Protectiveness finding, 2025 | |---|---|---| | OU1 | Tar Creek surface water and Roubidoux groundwater | Record of Decision (ROD) 1984 | Short-term protective for groundwater; surface water standards waived and handed to OU5 | | OU2 | Residential and high-access area soils | ROD 1997; explanation of differences 2007 (yards to 12 inches, gardens to 24 inches) | "Expected to be protective upon completion" for pathways addressed so far | | OU3 | Cardin drum removal | Removal March 28 to May 23, 2000 (120 containers) | Not evaluated; complete | | OU4 | Mining waste, chat, smelter waste, rural soil and wells | ROD 2008; explanation 2010 (added Treece, Kansas) | "Expected to be protective upon completion" for pathways addressed so far | | OU5 | Surface water and sediment across Spring and Neosho watersheds | No ROD yet | Not evaluated; no remedial action expected before 2030 |

(EPA 2025 review; opened.) OU5 covers about 437 square miles and 119 river miles across Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri and Tribal areas. The review period was August 7, 2024 to May 30, 2025, and the approval memo is dated September 18, 2025.

What EPA says is not yet in place

The review lists problems that make some conditions "No" for current protectiveness:

EPA also says Region 6 received extra congressional funding for FY2021 to FY2024, which ended in FY2025. (EPA 2025 review; opened)

Progress figures: not all the same year or the same measure

Remaining chat: sources disagree (see table below).

Relocation and buyout

Quapaw Nation

Oversight

Exposure and health: what the record shows and what it does not

Disputed numbers

Item Figure A Figure B Figure C Notes
Young children with elevated blood lead, early years 31.2% of tested ages 1 to 5, 1996, threshold 10 micrograms per deciliter (ATSDR 2004) 43% "before yard cleanups" (DEQ); 43% of ages 1 to 5 in a 1996 study (Wikipedia) 34% "mid-1980s" (KJRH); 21.5% near site in 1997, 12.61% Ottawa County (AP via Public Radio Tulsa) Different years, thresholds and samples. Not reconciled.
Chat remaining More than 30 million tons "remain in the Tar Creek area" (DEQ) About 120 million tons produced; about 10.5 million addressed; over 100 million left (KJRH quoting DEQ) About 75 million tons of chat piles (Wikipedia, citing the state plan) Different scope and years. EPA 2025 review gives no total.
Waste moved to repository Over 7.1 million tons of source material (DEQ) About 9.6 million tons as of 2024 (EPA 2025 review) 10.5 million tons "addressed" (KJRH) EPA's primary figure is the latest of the three.
Cleanup spending Nearly $600 million over about 40 years (KJRH) No dollar figure in EPA 2025 review $16 million per year from 2019 (Wikipedia) The $600 million figure has no document behind it in our reading.
Property buyouts About 530 properties, 2006 to 2010 (DEQ) 628 residences, 74 businesses, 125 renters, 2009 to 2012 (EPA) Different programs and counts.

What this case shows

  1. The hazard sat in plain view and in plain use. Chat is piled across the district, and DEQ tells residents not to use it in driveways, yards or gardens. That advice came long after the piles were there. What a resident could know depended on someone testing the yard. (DEQ)
  2. Progress and completion are different facts. EPA says nearly 4,000 properties and millions of tons of waste have been handled, and also that OU5 has no remedy, OU2 and OU4 are protective only "upon completion," and some deed notices are missing. A reader can hold both. (EPA 2025 review)
  3. People who left were offered a voluntary choice, and people who stayed were not. The 2006 to 2012 buyouts moved families out of Picher, Cardin, Hockerville and Treece, and some offers were declined. Renters and businesses are counted separately by EPA, which shows they were in the record. What those who stayed or left received, and whose choices were constrained, is not documented in the sources we read.
  4. Records of controls are incomplete. EPA's 2025 review flags missing deed notices on residential and buyout-area properties. The legal record meant to tell future owners is partly missing. (EPA 2025 review)
  5. A tribal government did part of the work. The Quapaw Nation owns a repository, led a first-of-its-kind Tribal cleanup on its own land and joins in federal decisions. That is a case of those closest to the land taking part in a decision that affects it. (EPA 2025 review)
  6. Health data are group data. Blood lead among children fell sharply in the surveys, and the agency also warned against concluding the work is done. The point is that residents had to rely on agency testing to learn their risk, with different numbers in different public accounts. (ATSDR 2004)

The strongest objections, and our answers

  1. Objection: The cleanup is a success; children's lead levels fell. Mitigation: We include the ATSDR drop from 31.2% to 2.8% and the later figures. We also include ATSDR's caution on sampling and EPA's 2025 list of open items. Falling blood lead supports progress. It does not show the site is complete.
  2. Objection: The mining companies, not the public, should be named as responsible. Mitigation: We did not read EPA's enforcement or settlement records for responsible parties, and the 2025 review does not mention them. We say nothing about who paid, and we do not assign fault.
  3. Objection: The buyout was voluntary and generous. Mitigation: EPA calls it voluntary. We report the counts and do not rate the offers because we did not read the terms or prices.
  4. Objection: Higher illness rates in the area prove the site caused harm. Mitigation: We do not make that claim. The sources show exposure pathways and group blood lead levels. The 24% miscarriage figure has no primary source in our reading.
  5. Objection: Local TV and Wikipedia are weak sources. Mitigation: We lead with EPA's 2025 review and ATSDR's 2004 report, both opened, and use KJRH and Wikipedia only for attributed statements, flagged as such.
  6. Objection: The 50-year estimate may be wrong. Mitigation: It is attributed to DEQ's director as relaying EPA. We did not find it in an EPA document and mark it Unverified as an EPA estimate.

Open questions: what would change our minds

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
Seventh Five-Year Review Report, Tar Creek (Ottawa County) Superfund Site (Sept. 2025) U.S. EPA Region 6 https://semspub.epa.gov/work/06/100034810.pdf OUs, RODs, protectiveness, issues, relocation, Quapaw, quantities Yes, all but last 4,072 characters
Tar Creek Superfund Site Oklahoma DEQ https://oklahoma.gov/deq/divisions/land-protection/cleanup-redevelopment/superfund/tar-creek-superfund-site.html Size, NPL date, chat, buyout, OU status Yes
Tar Creek Superfund Site, Report to Congress (Oct. 2004) ATSDR / CDC https://stacks.cdc.gov/view/cdc/75410/cdc_75410_DS1.pdf Blood lead 1996 and 2003, sources, limits Yes
Tar Creek EPA 2024 Presidential Transition Briefing Paper U.S. EPA https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2025-02/semdtar-creek-epa-2024-presidential-transition-briefing-paper-october-2024.pdf Five-year review timing, lead screening revision, Strategic Plan Yes
Mines that turned Picher into ghost town still 50 years away from full cleanup (June 3, 2025) KJRH (2 News Oklahoma) https://www.kjrh.com/news/local-news/mines-that-turned-picher-into-ghost-town-still-50-years-away-from-full-cleanup DEQ and L.E.A.D. statements, chat, cost, population Yes
Tar Creek Superfund site Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tar_Creek_Superfund_site Mining history, 1996 study, background Yes
EPA: Blood lead levels in kids greatly reduced (2014) AP via Public Radio Tulsa https://www.publicradiotulsa.org/local-regional/2014-10-16/epa-blood-lead-levels-in-kids-greatly-reduced 1997 and later blood lead figures Yes
Tar Creek Superfund site profile, milestones U.S. EPA (Superfund site profile) https://cumulis.epa.gov/supercpad/SiteProfiles/index.cfm?fuseaction=second.schedule&id=0601269 Milestones No: blocked by robots rules
Tar Creek Superfund site profile, summary page U.S. EPA (Superfund site profile) https://cumulis.epa.gov/supercpad/SiteProfiles/index.cfm?fuseaction=second.Stayup&id=0601269 2019 draft Strategic Plan only Yes; no 2025 review on this page
ATSDR public health assessment fact sheet (Sept. 2008) ATSDR via UNT web archive webarchive.library.unt.edu (2009 capture) Health assessment No: blocked

Evidence status and correction history

Key claims

Claim Status Source
Tar Creek was finalized on the NPL in September 1983 (proposed December 1982) Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review; DEQ gives September 8, 1983
The site is 40 square miles in Ottawa County Verified (secondary only) Oklahoma DEQ page (state agency)
OU2 ROD 1997 and OU4 ROD 2008; OU5 has no ROD Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
EPA 2025 review finds OU2 and OU4 "expected to be protective upon completion"; OU5 not evaluated Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
Review approved September 18, 2025; review period August 7, 2024 to May 30, 2025 Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
628 residences, 74 businesses, 125 renters relocated 2009 to 2012 from four towns Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
About 530 properties bought out 2006 to 2010 by LICRAT Verified (secondary only) Oklahoma DEQ page
Nearly 4,000 properties remediated and over 7,000 assessed as of 2024 Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
About 9.6 million tons placed in the Central Mill Repository as of 2024 Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
Chat remaining: 30 million tons vs over 100 million tons vs 75 million tons (piles) Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown) DEQ; KJRH; Wikipedia
Blood lead in young children: 31.2% (1996) to 2.8% (2003) Verified (primary source opened) ATSDR 2004 Report to Congress
Early elevated blood lead: 31.2% vs 43% vs 34% vs 21.5% Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown) ATSDR; DEQ and Wikipedia; KJRH; AP
ATSDR could not determine the relative contribution of tailings and paint Verified (primary source opened) ATSDR 2004
The Quapaw Nation completed the Catholic 40 cleanup in 2014, first Tribal-led Superfund cleanup on a Tribe's own property Verified (primary source opened) EPA 2025 review
Nearly $600 million has been spent over about 40 years Unverified (not confirmed) KJRH only
EPA estimates about 50 more years for chat piles Unverified (not confirmed) KJRH quoting DEQ's director; no EPA document found
EPA "ordered" Picher evacuated in 2009 Unverified (not confirmed) KJRH; EPA review calls relocation "voluntary"
24% miscarriage rate in the area Unverified (not confirmed) Wikipedia; no primary source found
Site has caused a specific illness in an individual Unverified (not confirmed) No source opened establishes individual causation

Correction history

Date Change Reason
2026-10-25 First publication New case
2026-10-25 Did not use "EPA ordered Picher evacuated in 2009" A news report says this; EPA's 2025 review describes relocation as voluntary
2026-10-25 Treated the EPA 2025 seventh five-year review as opened An earlier outside lead listed the site-profile summary page as the review source; that page shows only a 2019 draft plan. The review itself was found on EPA's document server

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. Seventh Five-Year Review Report, Tar Creek (Ottawa County) Superfund Site (Sept. 2025)

Publisher
U.S. EPA Region 6
Date
2025
URL
https://semspub.epa.gov/work/06/100034810.pdf
Supports
OUs, RODs, protectiveness, issues, relocation, Quapaw, quantities
Opened by us
Yes, all but last 4,072 characters
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. Tar Creek Superfund Site

Publisher
Oklahoma DEQ
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://oklahoma.gov/deq/divisions/land-protection/cleanup-redevelopment/superfund/tar-creek-superfund-site.html
Supports
Size, NPL date, chat, buyout, OU status
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. Tar Creek Superfund Site, Report to Congress (Oct. 2004)

Publisher
ATSDR / CDC
Date
2004
URL
https://stacks.cdc.gov/view/cdc/75410/cdc_75410_DS1.pdf
Supports
Blood lead 1996 and 2003, sources, limits
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. Tar Creek EPA 2024 Presidential Transition Briefing Paper

Publisher
U.S. EPA
Date
2024
URL
https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2025-02/semdtar-creek-epa-2024-presidential-transition-briefing-paper-october-2024.pdf
Supports
Five-year review timing, lead screening revision, Strategic Plan
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Mines that turned Picher into ghost town still 50 years away from full cleanup (June 3, 2025)

Publisher
KJRH (2 News Oklahoma)
Date
2025
URL
https://www.kjrh.com/news/local-news/mines-that-turned-picher-into-ghost-town-still-50-years-away-from-full-cleanup
Supports
DEQ and L.E.A.D. statements, chat, cost, population
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. Tar Creek Superfund site

Publisher
Wikipedia
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tar_Creek_Superfund_site
Supports
Mining history, 1996 study, background
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. EPA: Blood lead levels in kids greatly reduced (2014)

Publisher
AP via Public Radio Tulsa
Date
2014
URL
https://www.publicradiotulsa.org/local-regional/2014-10-16/epa-blood-lead-levels-in-kids-greatly-reduced
Supports
1997 and later blood lead figures
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. Tar Creek Superfund site profile, milestones

Publisher
U.S. EPA (Superfund site profile)
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://cumulis.epa.gov/supercpad/SiteProfiles/index.cfm?fuseaction=second.schedule&id=0601269
Supports
Milestones
Opened by us
No: blocked by robots rules
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. Tar Creek Superfund site profile, summary page

Publisher
U.S. EPA (Superfund site profile)
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://cumulis.epa.gov/supercpad/SiteProfiles/index.cfm?fuseaction=second.Stayup&id=0601269
Supports
2019 draft Strategic Plan only
Opened by us
Yes; no 2025 review on this page
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. ATSDR public health assessment fact sheet (Sept. 2008)

Publisher
ATSDR via UNT web archive
Date
2008
URL
webarchive.library.unt.edu (2009 capture)
Supports
Health assessment
Opened by us
No: blocked
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.

Corrections on the page

DateChangeReason
2026-10-25First publicationNew case
2026-10-25Did not use "EPA ordered Picher evacuated in 2009"A news report says this; EPA's 2025 review describes relocation as voluntary
2026-10-25Treated the EPA 2025 seventh five-year review as openedAn earlier outside lead listed the site-profile summary page as the review source; that page shows only a 2019 draft plan. The review itself was found on EPA's document server

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "Tar Creek / Picher Superfund Site (Ottawa County, Oklahoma, 1900 to 2025)." Case 69, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/tar-creek.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.