The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/snap.html
The Observatory · Case 41 · Public programs · 1939 to 2026
Food Stamp Program / SNAP (United States, 1939 to 2026)
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-19. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
1. Review status
- Status
- Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
- Verified by
- No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
- Sources checked
- 2026-10-19
- Review history
- https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=snap
- Packet built
- 2026-10-28
2. The article
Congress made food stamps a permanent national program in 1964, and it grew into the country's largest food aid program, with measured benefits for food security and child outcomes alongside long-running disputes over payment errors, fraud, work rules and who is left out.
In brief
Food stamps began in 1939 as a way to move farm surplus and ended in 1943. After pilots in 1961, Congress made the program permanent in the Food Stamp Act of 1964. Early on, states and counties chose whether to take part, families had to buy their stamps, and participation fell in counties that switched from free commodities. Congress required nationwide coverage by 1974 and ended the purchase requirement in 1977. Participation reached 47.6 million in 2013. Research using the county by county rollout suggests that children with early access had better adult health and, for women, better economic outcomes. Surveys, however, miss nearly half of recipients in linked data, which shifts estimates of the program's effect. Payment errors, disputed fraud estimates and work rules remain in dispute, and a 2025 law shifts part of the cost to states. The record shows the rules were set by public law, but who was reached depended on local choices, data limits and later amendments.
The record
Origins and the 1964 law
- The first food stamp plan ran from 1939 to spring 1943. It used orange stamps for any food and blue stamps for surplus food. It peaked at 4 million participants and cost $262 million, according to USDA's Food and Nutrition Service (FNS). (FNS history; opened)
- Its purpose was farm support as much as hunger relief. A University of Wisconsin summary says the 1935 Potato Control Act started food assistance with the main aim of removing surplus farm goods and supporting prices, which is why the Department of Agriculture still runs the program. (Institute for Research on Poverty, Focus, food stamp history; opened)
- President John F. Kennedy announced pilot programs on February 2, 1961. The first recipients were in West Virginia on May 29, 1961. By January 1964, pilots covered 43 areas in 22 states and 380,000 people. (FNS history)
- The Food Stamp Act of 1964 (Public Law 88-525, 78 Stat. 703) made the program permanent and put it under congressional control. It required state plans, purchase requirements and nondiscrimination. First-year funding was capped at $75 million. FNS notes the administration expected 4 million participants at $360 million a year. (FNS history; Statutes at Large, 78 Stat. 703, opened through a summarizing tool, not read in full)
- Under the 1964 design, households paid part of the face value of their stamps. The purchase requirement was a cost barrier. The Wisconsin summary adds that states decided whether to take part locally, and that counties switching from commodity distribution to stamps saw participation fall by about 40% on average. (IRP Focus)
- Members of Congress named by secondary sources as backers of the 1964 law include Representative Leonor Sullivan of Missouri (Wikipedia) and farm-state members George McGovern and Robert Dole (JSTOR Daily). The Agriculture Secretary who submitted the bill was Orville Freeman (Wikipedia). (Wikipedia, SNAP; JSTOR Daily; both opened)
Timeline
| Date |
Event |
Source |
| 1939 to 1943 |
First Food Stamp Plan; peak 4 million people |
FNS history |
| Feb. 2, 1961 |
Kennedy announces pilots |
FNS history |
| Aug. 31, 1964 |
Food Stamp Act signed as P.L. 88-525 (date from the public law number; signing date not checked) |
Statutes at Large |
| 1967 to 1968 |
Senate subcommittee visits the Mississippi Delta; Hunger U.S.A. report and a CBS special draw public attention |
IRP Focus |
| 1971 |
P.L. 91-671 sets national eligibility standards and caps purchase at 30% of income |
FNS history |
| 1973 to 1974 |
Law requires all counties to join by July 1, 1974; federal share of state administrative costs set at 50% |
FNS history |
| 1977 (effective Jan. 1, 1979) |
Purchase requirement eliminated; participation rises by about 1.5 million that month |
FNS history; Wikipedia |
| 1996 |
Welfare reform law (P.L. 104-193): limits for able-bodied adults without dependents (3 months in 36 unless working), most legal immigrants cut off, states must adopt electronic benefits by 2002 |
FNS history; Wikipedia |
| 2004 |
All states run electronic benefit transfer; FNS says trafficking fell from nearly 4% in the 1990s to about 1% |
FNS history |
| 2008 |
Program renamed SNAP (Oct. 1, 2008) |
FNS history |
| 2009 to 2013 |
Recovery Act benefit increase |
FNS history |
| 2013 |
Participation peak of 47.6 million (fiscal year) |
Wikipedia |
| 2023 |
Debt ceiling law changes work rule coverage, effective Sept. 1, 2023 |
Brookings |
| 2025 |
2025 reconciliation law (One Big Beautiful Bill Act) changes work rules, immigrant eligibility and state cost shares; state share of benefit costs from Oct. 1, 2027 |
NCSL; FNS history note |
Size and cost
| Item |
Figure |
Source |
| Participants, April 1965 |
561,261 |
FNS history |
| Participants, 1994 |
27.5 million (FNS) or 28 million (Wikipedia) |
FNS history; Wikipedia |
| Participants, 2013 |
47.6 million |
Wikipedia |
| Participants, recent |
about 42 million a month (Brookings, 2025); Wikipedia reports a fall to 36.6 million by May 2026 |
Brookings; Wikipedia |
| Benefit cost, fiscal 2025 |
about $95.8 billion, total cost about $102.6 billion |
Wikipedia (not checked against USDA) |
| Participation among eligible people, FY2022 |
88%, the highest in the estimate series |
FNS |
| Estimated 10 year federal savings from 2025 law |
$287 billion |
CBO figure as quoted by NCSL |
Outcomes research
- Hoynes, Schanzenbach and Almond used the county by county rollout from 1961 to 1975. Adults who had access to food stamps from conception to about age 5 had a lower metabolic syndrome index (about 0.3 standard deviations among low education families) and, for women, higher economic self-sufficiency. The authors note the estimates are intent to treat, rollout timing was partly political, health measures are self-reported, and the paper was a working paper. (NBER Working Paper 18535; opened)
- USDA's Economic Research Service (ERS) report ERR-355 by Christian Gregory and Kegan O'Connor links administrative SNAP records from 19 states to the Current Population Survey Food Security Supplement, 2017 to 2019. It finds 47.3% of SNAP participants did not report receipt in the survey. It finds SNAP lowers food insecurity, but the estimated effect is 38.4% using survey answers alone versus 24.4% with administrative records. The study covers only 19 states and three years. (ERS publication page; ERS report summary; both opened; full report not read)
- Meyer, Mok and Sullivan found that surveys miss a large share of food stamp dollars: about 20% in the PSID and SIPP and about 40% in the CPS, CE Survey and ACS. (Meyer, Mok and Sullivan, 2015; opened)
Errors and fraud: disputed measures
| Measure |
Figure |
Source and note |
| National payment error rate, FY1999 |
9.86% |
Wikipedia citing GAO (not checked) |
| FY2009 |
4.36% |
Wikipedia citing GAO (not checked) |
| FY2024 |
10.93% (9.26% overpayments, 1.67% underpayments) |
News report on USDA data (KTVU). FNS page opened; its figures sit in PDFs not opened |
| Trafficking, first FNS study |
13.0% of benefits |
FNS extent of trafficking page |
| Trafficking, latest study cited by FNS |
1.3% |
FNS page (period not stated there) |
| Trafficking, plausible range 2012 to 2014 |
$960 million to $4.7 billion a year; FNS point estimate about $1 billion |
GAO-19-167 (as summarized on GAO's page) |
- The error rate counts both overpayments and underpayments and is a caseload weighted average of state rates. It measures mistakes in eligibility and benefit amounts. It does not by itself measure intentional fraud. (FNS payment error page; opened)
- GAO found FNS's trafficking estimates rest on an assumption set in the 1990s that 90% of benefits redeemed at small trafficking stores and 40% at large ones were trafficked, never validated. GAO says the true amount is uncertain. (GAO-19-167; opened)
What this case shows
- Congress set the rules in public law. The 1964 act, the 1971 national standards, the 1977 end of the purchase requirement and the 1996 and 2025 changes are all statutes with recorded votes. Ordinary people could read the rules and vote on them. The thesis question is who was left out of the room where states and counties chose how to run it.
- Local choice created gaps. Because states and counties could decide whether and how to join until 1974, access depended on where a family lived. The Wisconsin summary reports a 40% average drop in participation when counties switched from free commodities to stamps. (IRP Focus)
- Exposure to the program left a measurable mark. The rollout study gives a rare design for judging long run effects, and shows why timing and place of a program matter. (NBER 18535)
- What people can know depends on the data. Survey answers miss about half of SNAP receipt in the CPS linked data. A public that relies on surveys may overstate or understate the program's effect. The ERS result shows the effect is positive but smaller than survey only studies suggest. (ERS)
- Costs fall on several payers. Taxpayers fund benefits. Starting in fiscal 2028 under the 2025 law, states pay part of benefit costs based on error rates, and people subject to work and immigrant rules bear the effect of lost benefits. (NCSL)
The strongest objections, and our answers
- Objection: Error and fraud waste public money. The FY2024 error rate of 10.93% is high, and trafficking estimates have ranged widely. Mitigation: We show both. Most error is overpayment from caseworker or household mistakes, not proven fraud; FNS says trafficking fell after electronic cards; GAO says the estimates are uncertain. We do not state a fraud total as fact.
- Objection: Work requirements are needed to protect work incentives. AEI's Angela Rachidi argues benefits can reduce work and that requirements counter this, while the evidence on employment is mixed. Brookings authors Lauren Bauer and Chloe East conclude "the best evidence shows work requirements do not increase employment" and cut participation a lot. Mitigation: Both sides agree requirements reduce participation. They disagree on employment effects. We report both and did not open the underlying studies. (AEI; Brookings; both opened as summaries)
- Objection: The long run health findings are not proof. The paper is an NBER working paper using self reported data, and rollout was not random. Mitigation: We call it suggestive evidence and list the authors' own limits. The published journal version was not opened.
- Objection: Evidence on nutrition gains is weak. The IRP summary reports that recipients' food consumption was not notably different from similar nonrecipients in some studies. Mitigation: We include that and treat food security and nutrition quality as different questions.
- Objection: The program is mainly a farm subsidy or a welfare entitlement. Both framings appear in the record: farm surplus roots and anti-poverty goals. Mitigation: We state both origins and take no side on its purpose.
Open questions: what would change our minds
- The full text of P.L. 88-525 was read only through a summarizing tool. Exact phrases in the declaration of policy are unverified.
- The signing date of the 1964 act was not confirmed from a primary source.
- FY2024 and FY2025 payment error rates come from a news report and the FNS page that links PDFs we did not open.
- The 1.3% trafficking rate and its period were not confirmed in the FNS report itself.
- The full ERR-355 report and the published American Economic Review version of the rollout study were not read.
- We did not open studies behind the work requirement claims on either side.
- The 2025 law details (work rule ages, immigrant eligibility, administrative cost share, effective dates other than Oct. 1, 2027) are from secondary sources and need the statute text.
- Participation and cost figures for 2025 and 2026 come from Wikipedia and are unchecked against USDA data.
- Whether the 1960s county participation drop of 40% holds in primary evaluations is unverified.
Sources
| Title |
Publisher |
URL |
Supports |
Opened? |
| SNAP history |
USDA FNS |
https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/history |
Timeline, laws, participation |
Yes |
| Food Stamp Act of 1964, 78 Stat. 703 |
GovInfo |
https://www.govinfo.gov/link/statute/78/703 |
Statute (primary) |
Yes, through summary only |
| Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program |
Wikipedia |
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supplemental_Nutrition_Assistance_Program |
Background, figures, names |
Yes |
| What the History of Food Stamps Reveals |
JSTOR Daily |
https://daily.jstor.org/what-the-history-of-food-stamps-reveals/ |
Politics, history |
Yes |
| Food stamp history |
Institute for Research on Poverty, Univ. of Wisconsin |
https://www.irp.wisc.edu/publications/focus/pdfs/foc22a.pdf |
County switch, purchase requirement |
Yes |
| Long Run Impacts of Childhood Access to the Safety Net (NBER WP 18535) |
NBER |
https://www.nber.org/system/files/working_papers/w18535/w18535.pdf |
Rollout study |
Yes |
| The SNAP and Food Security: Insights From Administrative Records (ERR-355) |
USDA ERS |
https://ers.usda.gov/publications/115069 |
Misreporting |
Yes |
| ERR-355 report summary |
USDA ERS |
https://ers.usda.gov/media/29327/err-355-report-summary.pdf |
47.3%, 38.4% vs 24.4% |
Yes |
| Under-Reporting of Transfers in Household Surveys |
Meyer, Mok, Sullivan |
https://harris.uchicago.edu/files/underreporting.pdf |
Survey underreporting |
Yes |
| Payment error rates |
USDA FNS |
https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/qc/per |
Definition of error rate |
Yes, no rates shown |
| SNAP overpayment and underpayment rates |
KTVU |
https://www.ktvu.com/news/snap-quality-control-system-identifies-both-underpayments-overpayments |
FY2024 10.93% |
Yes |
| GAO-19-167, SNAP retailer trafficking |
GAO |
https://gao.gov/products/gao-19-167 |
Trafficking uncertainty |
Yes |
| Extent of trafficking |
USDA FNS |
https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/extent-trafficking |
13.0%, 1.3% |
Yes, partial |
| Participation rates FY2020 and FY2022 |
USDA FNS |
https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/national-participation-rates/fy20and22 |
88% |
Yes |
| A Primer on SNAP Work Requirements (April 2025) |
Brookings |
https://www.brookings.edu/articles/a-primer-on-snap-work-requirements-april-2025 |
Work rule evidence |
Yes |
| SNAP and Employment: What Is the Evidence? |
AEI |
https://cosm.aei.org/snap-and-employment-what-is-the-evidence/ |
Opposing view |
Yes |
| States Brace for SNAP Cost Shifts |
NCSL |
https://www.ncsl.org/resources/details/States-Brace-for-SNAP-Cost-Shifts |
2025 law cost shares |
Yes |
Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.
3. Sources and their details
One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.
1. SNAP history
- Publisher
- USDA FNS
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/history
- Supports
- Timeline, laws, participation
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
2. Food Stamp Act of 1964, 78 Stat. 703
- Publisher
- GovInfo
- Date
- 1964
- URL
- https://www.govinfo.gov/link/statute/78/703
- Supports
- Statute (primary)
- Opened by us
- Yes, through summary only
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
5. Food stamp history
- Publisher
- Institute for Research on Poverty, Univ. of Wisconsin
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.irp.wisc.edu/publications/focus/pdfs/foc22a.pdf
- Supports
- County switch, purchase requirement
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
7. The SNAP and Food Security: Insights From Administrative Records (ERR-355)
- Publisher
- USDA ERS
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://ers.usda.gov/publications/115069
- Supports
- Misreporting
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
9. Under-Reporting of Transfers in Household Surveys
- Publisher
- Meyer, Mok, Sullivan
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://harris.uchicago.edu/files/underreporting.pdf
- Supports
- Survey underreporting
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
10. Payment error rates
- Publisher
- USDA FNS
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/qc/per
- Supports
- Definition of error rate
- Opened by us
- Yes, no rates shown
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
12. GAO-19-167, SNAP retailer trafficking
- Publisher
- GAO
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://gao.gov/products/gao-19-167
- Supports
- Trafficking uncertainty
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
4. Every link used in the article
- FNS history
https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/history
- Institute for Research on Poverty, Focus, food stamp history
https://www.irp.wisc.edu/publications/focus/pdfs/foc22a.pdf
- Statutes at Large, 78 Stat. 703
https://www.govinfo.gov/link/statute/78/703
- Wikipedia, SNAP
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supplemental_Nutrition_Assistance_Program
- JSTOR Daily
https://daily.jstor.org/what-the-history-of-food-stamps-reveals/
- NBER Working Paper 18535
https://www.nber.org/system/files/working_papers/w18535/w18535.pdf
- ERS publication page
https://ers.usda.gov/publications/115069
- ERS report summary
https://ers.usda.gov/media/29327/err-355-report-summary.pdf
- Meyer, Mok and Sullivan, 2015
https://harris.uchicago.edu/files/underreporting.pdf
- GAO-19-167
https://gao.gov/products/gao-19-167
- NCSL
https://www.ncsl.org/resources/details/States-Brace-for-SNAP-Cost-Shifts
- AEI
https://cosm.aei.org/snap-and-employment-what-is-the-evidence/
- Brookings
https://www.brookings.edu/articles/a-primer-on-snap-work-requirements-april-2025
- https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/qc/per
https://www.fna.usda.gov/snap/qc/per
- https://www.ktvu.com/news/snap-quality-control-system-identifies-both-underpayments-overpayments
https://www.ktvu.com/news/snap-quality-control-system-identifies-both-underpayments-overpayments
- https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/extent-trafficking
https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/extent-trafficking
- https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/national-participation-rates/fy20and22
https://www.fna.usda.gov/research/snap/national-participation-rates/fy20and22
5. Revision history
First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-22.
Corrections on the page
This page does not carry a correction table. Its change log is below.
Change log for the page
- 2026-10-28: Visual follow-up: "On this page" list above the bubbles, no layout jumps, faster Submit animation
- 2026-10-28: Visual fixes: one-row phone header, no floating bubbles on phones, and small text and image crop fixes
- 2026-10-28: Hand art: soft fade at the wrist, and fresh cache keys for the thread and hand pictures
- 2026-10-28: Fix styling on case, Government and case-study pages after the move
- 2026-10-28: Turn search indexing on for the public pages
- 2026-10-28: Move public pages out of /preview/ to clean URLs, add SEO basics (indexing stays off)
- 2026-10-28: Keep the AI label full width on pages whose main area is a grid
- 2026-10-28: Pull a Thread: Save to notes, unverified flags, source checks, ballot accordion (0045)
- 2026-10-28: Label AI-written pages with a review status, and let reviewers change it (0044)
- 2026-10-28: Bubbles: one size from the stylesheet, rising air bubbles, Submit thread button, label
- 2026-10-28: Header: logo centered, Pull a Thread art in header and menus
- 2026-10-28: Pull a Thread, round 2: preliminary answer for every request, grants fix, and the floating buttons (0036, 0037)
- 2026-10-28: Site analytics: use the new Cloudflare Web Analytics token (new michiinstitute account)
- 2026-10-28: Add Pull a Thread: send a link, a screenshot or a question, with a review queue ranked by our own score (0030 to 0035)
- 2026-10-28: Menus: "How government works" is now just "Government"
- 2026-10-27: Move the How government works entry from Research to Civics & History
- 2026-10-27: Case packets v2: cover, source cards, revision history; Email me updates moves into the report row
- 2026-10-27: Point links that reached the old preview home at the current site
- 2026-10-25: TOC 1025 overlay
- 2026-10-25: Cases banner 1025c (73 pages) and members update 33
- 2026-10-22: Initial mirror of michiinstitute.com (partial crawl) plus deploy files
6. How to cite
The Way (Michi Institute). "Food Stamp Program / SNAP (United States, 1939 to 2026)." Case 41, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-19. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/snap.html
This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.
Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.