The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/school-lunch.html
The Observatory · Case 40 · Public programs · 1946 to 2025
National School Lunch Program (United States, 1946 to 2025)
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-19. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
1. Review status
- Status
- Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
- Verified by
- No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
- Sources checked
- 2026-10-19
- Review history
- https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=school-lunch
- Packet built
- 2026-10-28
2. The article
Congress made school lunch a permanent federal program in 1946 partly as an outlet for farm surplus and left eligibility to states, so many Black and poor children were left out; it grew into a program serving about 30 million children, but budget cuts, nutrition rules, meal debt and unclear effects on hunger and learning remain in dispute.
In brief
Congress made school lunch a permanent federal program in 1946, and President Truman signed the act on June 4. It tied child nutrition to farm markets and left much of the decision to states and local schools. Historians who have studied it say that left many Black and poor children without lunches, and a 1963 count in four Southern states found coverage of 26 percent for non-white children against 62 percent for white children. After hunger was shown on national television in 1968, free lunches expanded. Cuts in 1981 raised prices and, by USDA figures, participation fell from 25.8 million to 22.9 million children in a year. Today about 30 million children take part, and about 60 percent of schools serve free meals to everyone. Whether this reduces hunger or improves learning is still debated. What the record shows is that the answer to who gets lunch has been set by votes in Congress and decisions in school districts, often out of ordinary view.
The record
Origins, 1930s to 1946
- Federal help for school meals began in the 1930s. A 1933 policy let the Department of Agriculture buy surplus crops and deliver them to schools; Section 32 of the 1935 farm law later used customs receipts to buy farm products for schools. (Wikipedia, National School Lunch Act; reviewer summary of Susan Levine's School Lunch Politics; both opened)
- President Harry Truman signed the National School Lunch Act on June 4, 1946. His signing statement said Congress had strengthened the nation through "better nutrition for our school children" and linked the act to "the welfare of our farmers." The statement does not mention the draft or the military and gives no dollar figures. (Truman Library, statement on signing; opened)
- In October 1946 Truman said nearly 8 million children were expected to receive lunches in the first year under the permanent law. (Truman Library, Oct. 22, 1946; opened)
- Wikipedia says wartime military demand for farm supplies cut school food access and a 1943 amendment required funds to buy food rather than labor or equipment. The claim that war-time draft rejections drove the 1946 law was not confirmed in any source we opened. (Wikipedia; opened)
- Levine's book, as summarized by a reviewer, says the 1946 program was "designed primarily as an outlet for surplus food." Senators Richard Russell and Allen Ellender defended state control. Federal money was not tied to the number of needy children, and states had to match funds, often by charging pupils. In 1999 the act was renamed for Russell. (Federal Education Policy summary; Wikipedia)
Who was left out
- A review in The Nation of Levine's book says the USDA "did nothing to ensure the participation of black schools in racially segregated Southern districts." It says there were no national eligibility standards for about 25 years and that USDA income guidelines for free lunch came in 1971. It reports that in 1963 the program in Alabama, Georgia, Virginia and Mississippi reached 26 percent of non-white children against 62 percent of white children, and that children's fees covered over 50 percent of program funding in the 1950s and 1960s. (The Nation, review of School Lunch Politics; opened. A book review is secondary; the underlying 1963 data was not opened.)
- Historian Jennifer Huff's review in Origins (2012) agrees that Southern Democrats backed the program for farm aid but refused federal control, and that local administration meant racial discrimination prevailed and very few poor children received free meals. (Origins, Ohio State University; opened)
- In 1968 the documentary Hunger in America, built on field work by Dr. Raymond Wheeler's team, showed children with rickets in Texas and families denied federal food aid in Mississippi. After a December 1969 White House conference, free breakfasts and lunches at school expanded. (Science History Institute, "Confronting America's Food Emergencies"; opened)
Timeline
| Date |
Event |
Source |
| 1933 to 1935 |
Federal purchase of farm surplus for school use |
Federal Education Policy; Wikipedia |
| June 4, 1946 |
Truman signs National School Lunch Act |
Truman Library |
| 1960 |
About half of public and private schools contract with USDA for lunch |
The Nation |
| 1962 |
Allocation formula tied to state poverty |
Wikipedia |
| 1963 |
Reported 26% (non-white) vs 62% (white) coverage in four Southern states |
The Nation |
| 1966 |
Child Nutrition Act adds breakfast pilot and milk |
CRS R46234 |
| 1968 |
Hunger in America broadcast |
Science History Institute |
| 1971 |
USDA free-lunch income guidelines |
The Nation |
| 1981 |
Budget law cuts subsidies; ketchup proposal withdrawn Sept. 25 |
Wikipedia (Ketchup as a vegetable) |
| 2004 |
Direct certification with SNAP required |
CRS R46234 |
| 2010 |
Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act |
CRS R46234 |
| 2024 |
Updated rules on milk, sodium, grains, added sugars; CEP threshold lowered from 40% to 25% |
CRS R46234 |
Scale and cost
- Participation (average children per day, 9 months) in USDA data: 19.4 million in 1969, 27.0 million in 1979, 24.1 million in 1990, 31.8 million in 2011, 29.6 million in 2019, 11.0 million in 2021 (pandemic waivers), 31.0 million in 2022, and 29.9 million in 2024. Lunches served were 3,368 million in 1969 and 4,859 million in 2024. (USDA FNS, National School Lunch Program participation and lunches served; opened via a redirect. The tool inferred the year labels on a few rows, so I used only unstarred years.)
- The Congressional Research Service says NSLP serves nearly 30 million children in more than 90,000 schools in a typical year, and gives spending of about $17.8 billion in FY2024 from chart data. (CRS R46234, overview; opened; title not shown in the fetched text)
- A separate CRS snapshot reports preliminary FY2024 spending of $23.5 billion for the lunch and breakfast programs together. (CRS R48515, April 21, 2025; opened, first 100,000 characters)
- School year 2024 to 2025 base lunch reimbursement is $4.43 free, $4.03 reduced price, $0.42 paid. (CRS R46234; R48515)
- For school year 2014 to 2015 the average reported cost of a reimbursable lunch was $3.81 against an average federal reimbursement of $3.32. Including unreported costs the cost was $6.02. (CRS R46234)
Disputed numbers
| Item | Figure A | Figure B | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| 1981 to 1982 budget cut | about $1 billion (Education Week 1982, FRAC claim) | $1.5 billion (TIME 2016, via Spotlight on Poverty); 25 percent cut for 1982 (Wikipedia) | Different measures; not reconciled |
| Lunch participation drop, 1981 to 1982 | 25.8 to 22.9 million children (USDA FNS table) | 26.8 to 23.6 million, about 12 percent, 2,700 schools stopped serving (USDA figures reported by Education Week) | Different base years and data series |
| Schools leaving, 1980 to 1981 | about 400 schools, 2.8 million students (Wikipedia) | 2,700 schools by 1982 (Education Week) | Different periods; Wikipedia's 400-school claim not traced to a primary source |
| Annual spending, FY2024 | about $17.8 billion, NSLP (CRS R46234) | $23.5 billion, NSLP plus breakfast (CRS R48515) | Different scope |
| Lunch participation after 2010 | fell 1.4 million (4.5%) to 30.4 million, 2010 to 2011 to 2013 to 2014 (GAO) | rate peaked at 63% in FY2010 and has hovered 57% to 59% since (CRS R48515) | Both consistent |
The 1981 cuts
- The 1981 budget law cut subsidies by 11 cents per full-price meal, 23 cents per reduced-price meal and 3 cents per free meal, and lowered income eligibility limits. In September 1981 the USDA proposed rules that let pickle relish count as a vegetable. President Reagan withdrew the proposal on September 25, 1981. Senator John Heinz called it "one of the most ridiculous" regulations he had heard of. (Wikipedia, "Ketchup as a vegetable"; opened)
- Education Week (November 1982) reported that the Food Research and Action Center, an advocacy group, attributed a 12 percent drop to price rises and tighter eligibility, and that the USDA confirmed the participation figures. The USDA's explanation was not reported. (Education Week; opened)
Nutrition rules, 2010 onward
- A 2015 Government Accountability Office report found lunch participation fell by 1.4 million children from school year 2010 to 2011 to 2013 to 2014, and the rate fell from 62 to 58 percent. Most of the decline came from full-price payers (about 2 million fewer). State officials in seven of eight states cited student acceptance of the new rules, and four of eight cited required paid-lunch price increases. Breakfast participation rose by 1.4 million. USDA issued about 4,700 pages of guidance from January 2012 to April 2015. (GAO-15-656; opened, first 100,000 characters)
- Plate waste, higher food costs and difficulty with whole-grain items were reported by several of the eight school food authorities GAO visited; two reported net losses. (GAO-15-656)
Free meals for all
- The Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) lets high-poverty schools serve free meals to all students without household applications. A USDA evaluation of 2012 to 2013 found daily lunch participation rose 3.5 percentage points (5.2 percent) in CEP districts against comparison districts, and breakfast 3.6 points. Costs beyond federal reimbursement fall on non-federal funds; financial uncertainty was the main barrier cited. (USDA FNS, CEP Evaluation summary; opened)
- About 60 percent of NSLP schools ran universal free meals in fall 2023, up from 18 percent in school year 2014 to 2015. 71 percent of students in NSLP and breakfast schools were approved for free meals. Eight states had universal programs authorized for 2024 to 2025. (CRS R48515)
Unpaid meal debt
- A School Nutrition Association survey reported by Education Week (January 2023) covered 1,230 districts; 847 reported about $19 million in unpaid meal debt combined, a median of $5,164 per district and a range of $15 to $1.7 million. Among districts without universal meals, 96 percent of nutrition directors called debt a challenge. Year-over-year change was not quantified. (Education Week; opened. The survey is by an industry association.)
Effects on children: contested
- Hinrichs studied the 1963 to 1966 change in the funding formula for cohorts in school roughly 1947 to 1973. He found few long-run health effects and sizable but imprecise effects on schooling: a 10 point rise in exposure raised completed schooling by about 0.37 years for women and nearly one year for men. The author notes the estimates are fragile to specification and may not apply to today's targeted program. (Hinrichs, Journal of Policy Analysis and Management; copy hosted by Nourish California; opened)
- Diane Schanzenbach and Mary Zaki studied breakfast, not lunch. Expanding school breakfast raised participation, but much of the increase came from children who would have eaten at home, and 24-hour nutrition, health and achievement effects were minimal overall. (NBER Working Paper 20308; abstract opened) This shows that meals served is an output and not proof of reduced hunger.
- We did not find a single current national estimate of how much school lunch reduces child hunger. The USDA Economic Research Service 2024 report (EIB-279) covers diets and nutrition quality, but only its summary page was readable. (USDA ERS, EIB-279, Sept. 30, 2024; summary opened)
What this case shows
- The first design was set by farm politics and state control. Senators from farm states and the South backed the law for its benefit to agriculture and kept eligibility local. The result, per the secondary sources, was a program that reached fewer Black children and poor children than white children and the better-off. What ordinary people could vote on was the federal law; what governed their child's lunch was a local choice.
- The numbers that mattered were hard to see. Coverage by race in 1963, the share of costs paid by children, and the lack of national standards until 1971 are in a historian's account, not a regular public report. Hunger in America in 1968 made the gap visible and changed policy within two years. That is the thesis in its working form.
- Cuts and rules land on the family at the lunch line. After the 1981 law the price of reduced-price lunch roughly doubled and participation fell, by USDA's own data, by about 3 million children in one year. After the 2010 nutrition rules, full-price participation fell by about 2 million. Both show how a federal choice shows up as a price or a menu.
- Free-for-all changes who is counted. CEP ended applications for whole schools. That removes stigma and paperwork. It also shifts costs to local budgets and can complicate other programs that rely on household income data, which USDA names as the biggest obstacle to wider adoption.
- Output is not impact. Meals served is an official figure. Whether children are less hungry or learn more is a separate question, and the research is mixed.
The strongest objections, and our answers
- Objection: The program worked as intended, feeding millions at modest cost. Mitigation: True on scale. About 30 million children and about $17.8 billion a year. We include it. We also show the uneven early coverage and the debt and cost-gap issues.
- Objection: The historical claims about race come from one author's account. Mitigation: Correct. The 1963 percentages and Levine's quote come through reviews in The Nation and Origins; we did not open the book or the original USDA data. The two reviews agree on the main point. See Section 5.
- Objection: The 2010 rules improved nutrition and falling participation is a short-run effect. Mitigation: GAO documents decline, CRS says participation has hovered at 57 to 59 percent since, and we did not find an evaluation of whether diets improved. We state the decline and do not judge the rules.
- Objection: The 1981 reductions were reasonable budget choices and were mis-described as 'ketchup is a vegetable.' Mitigation: The Wikipedia entry says ketchup was never named and the proposal was about condiments counted in combination. We report that the proposal was withdrawn, and that the subsidy cuts and eligibility cuts were enacted.
- Objection: Meal debt data come from an industry group. Mitigation: Yes. The School Nutrition Association represents school food staff. The survey is voluntary and non-random. We present it as one reported figure with its limits.
Open questions: what would change our minds
- The 1946 statute text and its Senate and House debates were not opened. Details on the funding formula and state matching come from secondary summaries.
- The draft and military-readiness origin story, often told about this act, was not confirmed. Truman's statement does not mention it.
- The 1963 racial coverage figures (26 percent versus 62 percent) come from a book review in The Nation. The original USDA data and Levine's book were not opened.
- The 1981 to 1982 budget cut ($1 billion, $1.5 billion, 25 percent) and participation drop figures are not reconciled; Wikipedia's 400-school figure is untraced.
- The USDA ERS 2024 report (EIB-279) PDF could not be opened, so its numbers on nutrition quality and diet effects are not included.
- The CRS R46234 report title was not displayed in the fetched text; confirm before publishing.
- Our fetch budget ran out before we could check the GAO page after character 100,000, the end of CRS R48515, and any Hinrichs or Schanzenbach publication details beyond abstracts.
- Michelle Obama's role, the 2010 rule's legislative votes, and the 2024 rule were not examined in primary sources.
- Meal-debt figures come from one 2023 survey. A federal or state audit would be a better source.
- What would change our minds: a national evaluation showing school lunch has little effect on hunger, or a primary-source record showing that 1946 Congress did mean to cover Black schools.
Sources
| Title |
Publisher |
URL |
Supports |
Opened? |
| Statement on signing the National School Lunch Act (June 4, 1946) |
Harry S. Truman Library |
https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/library/public-papers/128/statement-president-upon-signing-national-school-lunch-act |
Signing, quotes |
Yes |
| Statement on the National School Lunch Program (Oct. 22, 1946) |
Harry S. Truman Library |
https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/library/public-papers/235/statement-president-concerning-national-school-lunch-program |
8 million children |
Yes |
| National School Lunch Act |
Wikipedia |
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_School_Lunch_Act |
Background, amendments |
Yes |
| Review of Susan Levine, School Lunch Politics |
Federal Education Policy |
https://federaleducationpolicy.org/2011/03/31/susan-levine-school-lunch-politics-the-surprising-history-of-americas-favorite-welfare-program/ |
Surplus, state control |
Yes |
| Review of School Lunch Politics |
The Nation |
https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/unappetizing-politics-school-lunches/tnamp/ |
Race, 1963 figures, 1971 guidelines |
Yes |
| Playing Politics with Our Children's Health (review) |
Origins, Ohio State University |
https://origins.osu.edu/review/playing-politics-our-childrens-health |
Race, 1960s to 1980s |
Yes |
| Confronting America's Food Emergencies |
Science History Institute |
https://www.sciencehistory.org/stories/magazine/confronting-americas-food-emergencies/ |
Hunger in America, 1969 conference |
Yes |
| NSLP participation and lunches served |
USDA Food and Nutrition Service |
https://fna-bwbufwdzbabpezgc.z01.azurefd.us/sites/default/files/resource-files/slsummar-9.pdf |
Children and lunches by year |
Yes |
| Child nutrition programs overview (R46234) |
Congressional Research Service |
https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R46234.html |
History, rates, spending |
Yes, first 100,000 characters |
| School Lunch and Breakfast Participation: A Snapshot of Recent Trends (R48515) |
Congressional Research Service |
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2025-04-21_R48515_d8842dbc9f2a268abd99465daaa994b4d66ef214.html |
Participation, universal meals, FY2024 spending |
Yes, first 100,000 characters |
| Ketchup as a vegetable |
Wikipedia |
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketchup_as_a_vegetable |
1981 cuts, withdrawal |
Yes |
| Lunch Participation Drops by 12%, Group Says |
Education Week |
https://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/1982/11/10/02130022.h02.html |
1982 participation |
Yes |
| GAO-15-656 School Nutrition |
U.S. Government Accountability Office |
https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-656.pdf |
2010 rule effects |
Yes, first 100,000 characters |
| Community Eligibility Provision Evaluation summary |
USDA Food and Nutrition Service |
https://fns-prod.azureedge.us/sites/default/files/CEPEvaluation_Summary.pdf |
CEP effects, costs |
Yes |
| Meal debt is a growing problem for school districts |
Education Week |
https://edweek.org/leadership/meal-debt-is-a-growing-problem-for-school-districts-survey-shows/2023/01 |
Meal debt survey |
Yes |
| The effects of the NSLP on education and health (Hinrichs) |
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (copy) |
https://nourishca.org/ChildNutrition/NSLP/ExternalPublications/Hinrichs-EffectsofNSLPEdu-2011.pdf |
Long-run effects |
Yes |
| Expanding the School Breakfast Program (Schanzenbach and Zaki) |
NBER |
https://www.nber.org/papers/w20308 |
Breakfast study |
Yes, abstract |
| The National School Lunch Program: Background, Trends, and Issues, 2024 Edition (EIB-279) |
USDA Economic Research Service |
https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/110125 |
Scope only |
Summary page only |
Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.
3. Sources and their details
One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.
9. Child nutrition programs overview (R46234)
- Publisher
- Congressional Research Service
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R46234.html
- Supports
- History, rates, spending
- Opened by us
- Yes, first 100,000 characters
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
11. Ketchup as a vegetable
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketchup_as_a_vegetable
- Supports
- 1981 cuts, withdrawal
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
13. GAO-15-656 School Nutrition
- Publisher
- U.S. Government Accountability Office
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-656.pdf
- Supports
- 2010 rule effects
- Opened by us
- Yes, first 100,000 characters
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
17. Expanding the School Breakfast Program (Schanzenbach and Zaki)
- Publisher
- NBER
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.nber.org/papers/w20308
- Supports
- Breakfast study
- Opened by us
- Yes, abstract
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
18. The National School Lunch Program: Background, Trends, and Issues, 2024 Edition (EIB-279)
- Publisher
- USDA Economic Research Service
- Date
- 2024
- URL
- https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/110125
- Supports
- Scope only
- Opened by us
- Summary page only
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
4. Every link used in the article
- Wikipedia, National School Lunch Act
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_School_Lunch_Act
- reviewer summary of Susan Levine's School Lunch Politics
https://federaleducationpolicy.org/2011/03/31/susan-levine-school-lunch-politics-the-surprising-history-of-americas-favorite-welfare-program/
- Truman Library, statement on signing
https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/library/public-papers/128/statement-president-upon-signing-national-school-lunch-act
- Truman Library, Oct. 22, 1946
https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/library/public-papers/235/statement-president-concerning-national-school-lunch-program
- The Nation, review of School Lunch Politics
https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/unappetizing-politics-school-lunches/tnamp/
- Origins, Ohio State University
https://origins.osu.edu/review/playing-politics-our-childrens-health
- Science History Institute, "Confronting America's Food Emergencies"
https://www.sciencehistory.org/stories/magazine/confronting-americas-food-emergencies/
- USDA FNS, National School Lunch Program participation and lunches served
https://fna-bwbufwdzbabpezgc.z01.azurefd.us/sites/default/files/resource-files/slsummar-9.pdf
- overview
https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R46234.html
- CRS R48515, April 21, 2025
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2025-04-21_R48515_d8842dbc9f2a268abd99465daaa994b4d66ef214.html
- Education Week
https://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/1982/11/10/02130022.h02.html
- GAO-15-656
https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-15-656.pdf
- USDA FNS, CEP Evaluation summary
https://fns-prod.azureedge.us/sites/default/files/CEPEvaluation_Summary.pdf
- Education Week
https://edweek.org/leadership/meal-debt-is-a-growing-problem-for-school-districts-survey-shows/2023/01
- Hinrichs, Journal of Policy Analysis and Management; copy hosted by Nourish California
https://nourishca.org/ChildNutrition/NSLP/ExternalPublications/Hinrichs-EffectsofNSLPEdu-2011.pdf
- NBER Working Paper 20308
https://www.nber.org/papers/w20308
- USDA ERS, EIB-279, Sept. 30, 2024
https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/110125
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketchup_as_a_vegetable
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketchup_as_a_vegetable
5. Revision history
First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-22.
Corrections on the page
This page does not carry a correction table. Its change log is below.
Change log for the page
- 2026-10-27: Point links that reached the old preview home at the current site
- 2026-10-25: TOC 1025 overlay
- 2026-10-25: Cases banner 1025c (73 pages) and members update 33
- 2026-10-22: Initial mirror of michiinstitute.com (partial crawl) plus deploy files
6. How to cite
The Way (Michi Institute). "National School Lunch Program (United States, 1946 to 2025)." Case 40, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-19. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/school-lunch.html
This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.
Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.