The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/right-to-work.html
The Observatory · Case 60 · Labor and land · 1944 to 2024
Right-to-work laws (United States, 1944 to 2024)
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
1. Review status
- Status
- Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
- Verified by
- No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
- Sources checked
- 2026-10-25
- Review history
- https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=right-to-work
- Packet built
- 2026-10-28
2. The article
WarningNot yet reviewed by a person. Treat this page as a draft.DetailsHide details
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft. Review history
Since 1947 federal law has let each state ban contracts that require union membership or fees; 26 states now do, the evidence on wages and union strength is contested, and the Supreme Court's 2018 Janus decision extended a related rule to public workers nationwide.
In brief
In 1947 Congress added Section 14(b) to the federal labor law, allowing each state to ban union-security agreements, meaning contracts that require members or fees as a job condition. Arkansas and Florida adopted such laws in November 1944, and 26 states now have them according to the National Conference of State Legislatures as of December 2023. Michigan adopted one in 2012 and repealed it in 2023, with the repeal taking effect in early 2024. Researchers disagree about the effects. The Economic Policy Institute finds wages about 3 percent lower in right-to-work states after controls, while a 2024 Mackinac Center brief finds about 2 percent higher with state fixed effects, and one labor scholar told the Associated Press, "We don't know causation." In 2018 the Supreme Court ruled 5 to 4 in Janus v. AFSCME that public-sector agency fees violate the First Amendment. What the record shows is a rule that voters in each state could change, and an evidence base that has not settled what the rule does.
The record
The federal rule
- Section 14(b) of the National Labor Relations Act, codified at 29 U.S.C. 164(b), says nothing in the subchapter "shall be construed as authorizing the execution or application of agreements requiring membership in a labor organization as a condition of employment in any State or Territory in which such execution or application is prohibited by State or Territorial law." The section was added by the Act of June 23, 1947, ch. 120, title I, sec. 101, 61 Stat. 151. (29 U.S.C. 164, Cornell LII; opened, a copy of the statute. The page did not use the name "Taft-Hartley.")
- So Congress left the question of union-security clauses to the states. A "right-to-work" law is a state law that bars contracts requiring union membership or payment of fees as a condition of a job.
First state laws, 1944
- Arkansas and Florida enacted right-to-work measures in November 1944, "making them the first two states to do so." The Encyclopedia of Arkansas does not rank them. It says the Christian American Association put Arkansas Amendment 34 on the ballot by initiative, that the election had an "unusually high number of irregularities," and that the secretary of state certified it with 105,300 votes for and 87,652 against. It reports that in plantation counties some planters bought poll-tax receipts in large batches and cast votes for sharecroppers. (Encyclopedia of Arkansas, Right to Work Law; opened. A state encyclopedia, secondary.)
- Which of the two was "first" is not settled by sources I opened. I did not open Florida's 1944 constitutional text or an official Florida record.
Origins: contested interpretation
- Michael Pierce (University of Arkansas), writing for an American Constitution Society symposium on Janus in February 2018, argues that Vance Muse and the Christian American Association promoted right-to-work in the Jim Crow South, tied unions to a threat to the racial order, and that the name came from a 1941 Dallas Morning News editorial by William Ruggles. He cites Stetson Kennedy, George Green, period newsletters and other sources. (ACS Expert Forum; opened. The page is advocacy-oriented, and it is one scholar's argument.)
- I did not open a source written by a right-to-work supporter that answers this origin claim. The supporters' present-day case, as summarized in Michigan's House Fiscal Agency bill analysis, is that such laws "encourage economic growth and job creation, and let employees opt out of supporting unions that don't reflect their interests." (Michigan House Fiscal Agency analysis of SB 34, 2023; opened)
- Where a law came from does not by itself show what it does today. We report both and score neither.
Count of states
| Source |
Count |
Notes |
| NCSL page "updated December 19, 2023," table |
26 states |
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming |
| Same NCSL page, metadata description |
"28 states and Guam" |
Conflicts with the page's own table; likely stale |
(NCSL, Right-to-Work Resources; opened.) The same page says Kentucky's HB 1 on January 9, 2017 made it the 27th state and that Michigan's repeal in 2023 is the first in decades, which squares with 26. I did not confirm any change after December 2023, so the count for October 2026 is not independently checked.
Michigan, 2012 and 2023
- Michigan became a right-to-work state in 2012 (NCSL). The private-sector law was 2012 PA 348, and the House analysis describes 2012 PA 349 as the public-sector law. (Michigan House Fiscal Agency)
- Senate Bill 34 became Public Act 8 of 2023. NCSL gives March 24, 2023 as the date Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed it. The bill did not get enough votes for immediate effect; a December 1, 2023 Small Business Association of Michigan post said it would "likely" take effect February 13, 2024. The Mackinac Center's 2024 brief says it was repealed in February 2024. (SBAM; Mackinac Center, Oct. 24, 2024; both opened.) I did not open the enrolled act or the Michigan Compiled Laws, so the exact effective date rests on secondary sources.
- The House analysis summarizes the arguments: repeal supporters cite the "free-rider problem" and lost union funding; opponents of repeal cite economic growth and employee choice. (House Fiscal Agency analysis)
- I found no post-repeal data on Michigan wages, union membership or employment in the sources I opened.
Janus v. AFSCME (related, public sector)
- Decided June 27, 2018, 5 to 4. Justice Alito wrote for the majority (with Roberts, Kennedy, Thomas, Gorsuch). It held that public-sector agency fees from nonmembers violate the First Amendment and overruled Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209 (1977). Quote: "employees must choose to support the union before anything is taken from them." Justice Kagan dissented (joined by Ginsburg, Breyer, Sotomayor). The page notes 28 states already generally prohibited agency fees. (Janus v. AFSCME, Cornell LII; opened, first 100,000 characters.)
- Janus is a constitutional ruling about government employers. Right-to-work statutes are state laws that cover private employers too. They are different rules with similar effects on fees.
Studies on wages, jobs and unions: named, both sides
| Study or claim |
Finding |
Source type |
| Elise Gould and Will Kimball, Economic Policy Institute (EPI), critique of a Heritage Foundation report |
Wages in right-to-work states about 3.1 percent lower after controls ($1,558 a year for a typical full-time worker); unadjusted gap 15.8 percent ($20.66 vs $23.93). EPI calls it an association, a "residual correlation" |
EPI blog; opened. EPI is labor-supported |
| Elise Gould and Heidi Shierholz, EPI, 2011 (as reported by AP in 2012) |
About $1,500 less a year, 3.2 percent lower wages, cost-of-living adjusted |
AP, Jan. 27, 2012; opened (secondary) |
| Christopher Douglas, Mackinac Center, Oct. 24, 2024 |
Using 2010 to 2012 Current Population Survey data, wages about 1.9 percent higher in right-to-work states with state fixed effects |
Mackinac brief; opened. Mackinac is a free-market think tank |
| Indiana Chamber of Commerce study (via AP) |
Employment grew 100 percent in right-to-work states from 1977 to 2008 vs 57 percent elsewhere; personal income up 164.4 percent vs 92.8 percent |
AP; secondary, business group |
| Ozkan Eren and Serkan Ozbeklik (via AP) |
For Oklahoma and Idaho, right-to-work likely had no impact on manufacturing employment |
AP only; I did not open the paper |
| Gary Chaison, Clark University (via AP) |
Debate is polarized: "We don't know causation." |
AP |
| Barry Hirsch and David Macpherson union data (via AP) |
In Oklahoma in 2010, 4.7 percent of private-sector workers were covered by contracts but 3.5 percent were dues-paying members |
AP; I did not open UnionStats.com |
What this case shows
- Congress handed a national question to the states, so the fight is state by state. Section 14(b) means a voter's state decides whether a union contract can require fees. Michigan shows the rule can be passed, in 2012, and undone, in 2023.
- Who was included in the vote is part of the record. The Encyclopedia of Arkansas describes poll-tax receipts bought in bulk and delayed county returns in the 1944 vote. Pierce argues the early campaigns were tied to preserving racial hierarchy. We report this as one account of how the first laws passed, not as proof about any modern law.
- The money evidence is split by method. EPI finds about 3 percent lower wages after controls; Mackinac finds about 2 percent higher with state fixed effects. Chaison says causation is unknown. A reader can see the same question answered two ways.
- Janus shows a related rule decided by nine judges, not by a vote. The public-sector fee rule changed nationwide in 2018 with no statute and no ballot. Voters could not amend it by state vote.
- Both sides name a person or group who pays. Supporters stress workers who object to paying; opponents stress free riders and weaker union funding. The House analysis records both.
The strongest objections, and our answers
- Objection: the racist-origins story is used to smear a policy with broad current support. Mitigation: we attribute it to Pierce, note the source is advocacy-oriented, say we found no rebuttal source, and state that origin does not determine effect.
- Objection: wages differ because of industry and cost of living, not the law. That is the core dispute between EPI and Mackinac. Mitigation: both findings are shown with their controls, and neither is picked.
- Objection: the Michigan repeal shows voters or legislators chose union fees back. Mitigation: SB 34 was passed by the legislature; nothing in the sources shows a statewide ballot vote.
- Objection: Janus and right-to-work are conflated. Mitigation: we state they are different legal rules.
- Objection: the count is wrong. Mitigation: we show 26 from NCSL's table, the page's own conflicting "28" description, and that the date is December 2023.
Open questions: what would change our minds
- Florida's 1944 text, and which state acted first, were not opened.
- The original studies (Gould and Shierholz 2011; Eren and Ozbeklik; Hirsch) were not opened; AP is the source for several.
- No post-2024 Michigan data on union membership, wages or jobs were opened.
- The state count after December 2023 was not checked against a newer source.
- Michigan's effective date (February 13, 2024) rests on a law firm and trade-group post and the Mackinac brief; the act's text was not opened.
- Pierce's claims about Muse and the Christian American Association need a second historian and the original documents; none opened.
- A supporter-side source on the origin question was not found.
- Whether Janus changed union membership: not examined.
Sources
| Title |
Publisher |
URL |
Supports |
Opened? |
| 29 U.S.C. 164 |
Cornell LII |
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/164 |
Section 14(b) text |
Yes |
| Right-to-Work Resources |
NCSL |
https://www.ncsl.org/labor-and-employment/right-to-work-resources |
State list, Michigan, Kentucky |
Yes |
| Right to Work Law |
Encyclopedia of Arkansas |
https://encyclopediaofarkansas.net/entries/Right-to-Work-Law-7621 |
1944 votes |
Yes |
| Vance Muse and the Racist Origins of Right to Work |
American Constitution Society |
https://www.acslaw.org/acsblog/vance-muse-and-the-racist-origins-of-right-to-work |
Origins argument |
Yes |
| Janus v. AFSCME, No. 16-1466 |
Cornell LII |
https://www.law.cornell.edu/supremecourt/text/16-1466 |
Holding, vote |
Yes, partly |
| House Fiscal Agency analysis, SB 34 |
Michigan Legislature |
https://legislature.mi.gov/documents/2023-2024/billanalysis/House/pdf/2023-HLA-0034-03FFBB67.pdf |
PA 8 of 2023, arguments |
Yes |
| Michigan right-to-work effective date |
SBAM |
https://www.sbam.org/michigans-right-to-work-law-effective-february-13-2024/ |
Feb. 13, 2024 |
Yes |
| EPI blog on right-to-work wages |
EPI |
https://www.epi.org/blog/new-study-confirms-that-right-to-work-laws-are-associated-with-significantly-lower-wages/ |
3.1 percent |
Yes |
| Mackinac Center study S2024-11 |
Mackinac Center |
https://mackinac.org/archives/2024/s2024-11.pdf |
1.9 percent higher |
Yes |
| After 70 years, right to work impact still unclear |
AP (Tom LoBianco), 2012 |
https://www.foxnews.com/us/after-70-years-right-to-work-impact-still-unclear |
Studies from both sides |
Yes |
Evidence status and correction history
Key claims
| Claim |
Status |
Source |
| Section 14(b) lets states ban union-membership requirements |
Verified (primary source opened) |
29 U.S.C. 164 |
| Enacted by the Act of June 23, 1947, 61 Stat. 151 |
Verified (primary source opened) |
29 U.S.C. 164 notes |
| Arkansas and Florida enacted laws in November 1944 |
Verified (secondary only) |
Encyclopedia of Arkansas; ACS |
| Florida was the first state |
Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown): Encyclopedia of Arkansas treats Arkansas and Florida together as first two without ranking |
Encyclopedia of Arkansas |
| Arkansas 1944 vote 105,300 to 87,652 |
Verified (secondary only) |
Encyclopedia of Arkansas |
| 1944 Arkansas vote had irregularities including bulk poll-tax purchases |
Verified (secondary only) |
Encyclopedia of Arkansas |
| Right-to-work was promoted to preserve Jim Crow labor relations |
Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown): Pierce (ACS) argues yes; no opposing source opened |
ACS |
| 26 states have right-to-work laws |
Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown): 26 in NCSL table vs "28 states and Guam" in its description; date Dec. 2023 |
NCSL |
| Kentucky was 27th state, HB 1 on Jan. 9, 2017 |
Verified (secondary only) |
NCSL |
| Michigan law passed 2012 |
Verified (secondary only) |
NCSL; House analysis |
| SB 34 signed March 24, 2023, became PA 8 of 2023 |
Verified (secondary only) |
NCSL; House analysis |
| Repeal effective Feb. 13, 2024 |
Verified (secondary only) |
SBAM ("likely"); Mackinac says Feb. 2024 |
| Janus decided June 27, 2018, 5 to 4, overruling Abood |
Verified (primary source opened) |
Cornell LII |
| EPI: wages about 3.1 percent lower, $1,558 |
Verified (secondary only) |
EPI blog |
| EPI 2011: 3.2 percent, about $1,500 |
Verified (secondary only) |
AP 2012 |
| Mackinac: wages about 1.9 percent higher with state fixed effects |
Verified (secondary only) |
Mackinac brief |
| Indiana Chamber: employment +100 percent vs +57 percent, 1977 to 2008 |
Verified (secondary only) |
AP 2012 |
| Eren and Ozbeklik: no effect on manufacturing jobs |
Verified (secondary only) |
AP 2012 |
| Oklahoma 2010: 4.7 percent covered, 3.5 percent members |
Verified (secondary only) |
AP 2012 |
Correction history
| Date |
Change |
Reason |
| 2026-10-25 |
First publication |
New case |
| 2026-10-25 |
No outside draft was available for this case; the NCSL page's own count conflict (26 vs 28) is recorded rather than resolved |
Nothing to correct from an outside draft |
Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.
3. Sources and their details
One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.
1. 29 U.S.C. 164
- Publisher
- Cornell LII
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/164
- Supports
- Section 14(b) text
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-25
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
5. Janus v. AFSCME, No. 16-1466
- Publisher
- Cornell LII
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.law.cornell.edu/supremecourt/text/16-1466
- Supports
- Holding, vote
- Opened by us
- Yes, partly
- Checked
- 2026-10-25
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
9. Mackinac Center study S2024-11
- Publisher
- Mackinac Center
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://mackinac.org/archives/2024/s2024-11.pdf
- Supports
- 1.9 percent higher
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-25
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
4. Every link used in the article
- Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=right-to-work
- 29 U.S.C. 164, Cornell LII
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/164
- Encyclopedia of Arkansas, Right to Work Law
https://encyclopediaofarkansas.net/entries/Right-to-Work-Law-7621
- ACS Expert Forum
https://www.acslaw.org/acsblog/vance-muse-and-the-racist-origins-of-right-to-work
- Michigan House Fiscal Agency analysis of SB 34, 2023
https://legislature.mi.gov/documents/2023-2024/billanalysis/House/pdf/2023-HLA-0034-03FFBB67.pdf
- NCSL page
https://www.ncsl.org/labor-and-employment/right-to-work-resources
- SBAM
https://www.sbam.org/michigans-right-to-work-law-effective-february-13-2024/
- Mackinac Center, Oct. 24, 2024
https://mackinac.org/archives/2024/s2024-11.pdf
- Janus v. AFSCME, Cornell LII
https://www.law.cornell.edu/supremecourt/text/16-1466
- EPI blog
https://www.epi.org/blog/new-study-confirms-that-right-to-work-laws-are-associated-with-significantly-lower-wages/
- AP
https://www.foxnews.com/us/after-70-years-right-to-work-impact-still-unclear
5. Revision history
First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.
Corrections on the page
| Date | Change | Reason |
|---|
| 2026-10-25 | First publication | New case |
| 2026-10-25 | No outside draft was available for this case; the NCSL page's own count conflict (26 vs 28) is recorded rather than resolved | Nothing to correct from an outside draft |
Change log for the page
- 2026-10-28: Visual follow-up: "On this page" list above the bubbles, no layout jumps, faster Submit animation
- 2026-10-28: Visual fixes: one-row phone header, no floating bubbles on phones, and small text and image crop fixes
- 2026-10-28: Hand art: soft fade at the wrist, and fresh cache keys for the thread and hand pictures
- 2026-10-28: Fix styling on case, Government and case-study pages after the move
- 2026-10-28: Turn search indexing on for the public pages
- 2026-10-28: Move public pages out of /preview/ to clean URLs, add SEO basics (indexing stays off)
- 2026-10-28: Keep the AI label full width on pages whose main area is a grid
- 2026-10-28: Pull a Thread: Save to notes, unverified flags, source checks, ballot accordion (0045)
- 2026-10-28: Label AI-written pages with a review status, and let reviewers change it (0044)
- 2026-10-28: Bubbles: one size from the stylesheet, rising air bubbles, Submit thread button, label
- 2026-10-28: Collapse case review banners and TABOR notes into details
- 2026-10-28: Header: logo centered, Pull a Thread art in header and menus
- 2026-10-28: Pull a Thread, round 2: preliminary answer for every request, grants fix, and the floating buttons (0036, 0037)
- 2026-10-28: Site analytics: use the new Cloudflare Web Analytics token (new michiinstitute account)
- 2026-10-28: Add Pull a Thread: send a link, a screenshot or a question, with a review queue ranked by our own score (0030 to 0035)
- 2026-10-28: Menus: "How government works" is now just "Government"
- 2026-10-27: Move the How government works entry from Research to Civics & History
- 2026-10-27: Case packets v2: cover, source cards, revision history; Email me updates moves into the report row
- 2026-10-27: Cases: add inline source links to 51 case pages (links only; a-tag-stripped pages identical to main)
- 2026-10-27: Point links that reached the old preview home at the current site
- 2026-10-25: Cases banner 1025c (73 pages) and members update 33
6. How to cite
The Way (Michi Institute). "Right-to-work laws (United States, 1944 to 2024)." Case 60, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/right-to-work.html
This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.
Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.