The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/pso-rates.html

The Observatory · Case 70 · Public money · 2025 to 2026

PSO Electric Rates and Large-Load (Data Center) Cost Allocation (Oklahoma, 2025 to 2026)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-25
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=pso-rates
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

WarningNot yet reviewed by a person. Treat this page as a draft.DetailsHide details

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft. Review history

Oklahoma's Public Service Company (PSO) asked regulators for a large rate increase and preapproval of about $1.2 billion in new power projects while data centers sought service, and the record so far shows disputes over who pays but no final order or finding of cost shifting.

In brief

In 2025 Public Service Company of Oklahoma asked the state's Corporation Commission for two things: preapproval of about $1.2 billion in new power projects, and a general rate increase. On May 11, 2026 the Commission approved the projects in a 2 to 1 vote, and the governor signed a law the same week to set separate rules for data centers and similar large customers, effective July 1, 2026. In the rate case, an administrative law judge's report was filed on August 21, and interim rates of about $11 a month began July 1. The Attorney General announced a settlement that would cut a roughly 15% request to about 1%, subject to Commission approval. PSO says data centers pay their own connection costs. Critics, including a state legislator, say existing customers may carry costs tied to new load. We found no final order and no audited cost allocation, so the question of who pays remains open.

The record

Two dockets, two different questions

Preapproval: PUD 2025-000064

State law: the Data Center Customer Ratepayer Protection Act (House Bill 2992)

Rate case: PUD 2025-000075

Attorney General settlement announcement

Figures that look different but measure different things

| Item | Figure | Source | Note | |---|---|---| | Rate request | $597 million | OK Energy Today, Oct. 1, 2026 | "Rate request totaling" | | Rate request | $475 million "in rate increases" | Gann release, June 2, 2026 | Challenged by legislators; may include other utilities | | Rate request | $250 million in rate increases in docket summary; $600 million additional sought | Gann release | His release's own summary; unreconciled | | Average residential effect, requested | More than $25 a month (about 15%) | Attorney General release; Tulsa Flyer | | | Average residential effect, settlement | About $2.45 a month (about 1%) | Attorney General release | Attorney General's figure | | Interim effect | About $11 a month at 1,100 kWh | Tulsa Flyer, July 1; KRMG | Interim, subject to refund | | Preapproval | $1.255 billion | OK Energy Today; Gann release (docket listing) | Docket figure | | Preapproval | About $1.2 billion; $715 million battery | KGOU | News rounding | | Preapproval | About $1.3 billion | Gann release | Advocate's rounded figure |

What this case shows

  1. Most customers learn of a rate case after it is filed, and by then the clock is running. Interim rates started July 1, 2026 under a 180-day rule, before the Commission decided. The refund promise is in the record, but people paid first. (KRMG; Tulsa Flyer)
  2. The public had a way in and the record shows it. The OCC accepts written public comments in the case, and said it gives no specific weight to any one comment. Several groups, including AARP, the Attorney General and industrial and data center interests, filed exceptions. Who is at the table is visible; who is not is the ordinary residential customer, who is represented by others. (KRMG; OK Energy Today)
  3. Voters passed a rule after a big decision, not before it. HB 2992 was signed the same week the Commission approved the $1.2 billion package and took effect July 1, 2026. The order itself refers to its protections. Whether the law covers loads contracted earlier is not established in our sources. (KGOU)
  4. A single dollar number hides several different claims. A request of $597 million, a $25 monthly increase, a $2.45 settled increase, and an $11 interim charge describe different things at different times. A voter needs the definitions, not the headline. (table above)
  5. The costs and who pays are legally separate from the data center question. PSO says its general rate case concerns costs of serving existing customers in 2024 and 2025. Critics say preapproval of new capacity is tied to expected data center load. Both are attributed claims. The record we opened does not decide which is right. (Tulsa Flyer, July 1; Oklahoma House release)

The strongest objections, and our answers

Positions are shown separately and none is endorsed.

  1. PSO's position. PSO says data centers "pay the full cost to connect to the grid," that contracts require upfront financial guarantees and long-term payment commitments, that shared costs spread over more customers can reduce pressure on everyone's bills, and that data centers do not raise other customers' bills. It also says rates may change because of fuel costs, grid upgrades and market factors. PSO's page gives no dollar or MW figures, and the claim is not independently audited. (PSO, Data centers page; opened) Mitigation: we report it as a company statement.
  2. Attorney General's position. The Attorney General negotiated a settlement that cuts the requested residential increase to about 1% and calls it a win for ratepayers. Mitigation: the settlement is "subject to approval," and the Attorney General's release does not discuss data centers or large-load terms. Another party exception filing (with the Public Utility Division and AARP) shows the Attorney General also took positions after the ALJ report.
  3. Customers and consumer groups. AARP, the Attorney General and the Public Utility Division joined in exceptions and motions. Customers told reporters about higher bills. One report cited a bill jump from about $200 to over $1,500 (KRMG). Mitigation: a single customer's bill is not representative and does not show a cause. We do not name or identify any customer. Bills also depend on usage, weather, fuel and riders, so a higher bill alone does not show a rate cause.
  4. Legislators. Representative Gann says the preapproval relies on an unconstitutional financing law and that new large loads may be subsidized. Mitigation: his statement is an advocate's position and appeal, not a court ruling. We did not find a court decision on it.
  5. Regulators. The Commission said its large-load order ensures costs "are paid primarily by the large-load customers." Commissioner Bingman dissented on the preapproval over battery cost and risk. The ALJ recommended a large-load tariff that PSO did not sign. Mitigation: these are regulators' stated findings or recommendations, and we did not read the order or the tariff sheets.
  6. Objection: News and local reports are not the docket. Mitigation: Correct. We tried to reach the OCC filings (see Section 5) and could not. Every date and amount here is attributed to the report that gave it, and the three items needing docket confirmation are marked.
  7. Objection: A "no finding" case is unsatisfying. Mitigation: A cross-subsidy finding needs class cost-of-service schedules, executed contracts and a final order. None has been read. We state what would change our minds in Section 5.

Open questions: what would change our minds

What we could not open. We could not reach the OCC electronic case filing system or any order or testimony in PUD 2025-000064 or PUD 2025-000075 in this pass. The Commission's order in the preapproval case, the stipulation, the ALJ report itself, and the tariff sheets were not read. All dates and amounts above come from the Attorney General, the Oklahoma House, the Commission's public page, PSO, or news reports as cited, and are labeled that way.

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
Drummond, PSO reach settlement (June 30, 2026) Oklahoma Attorney General https://oklahoma.gov/oag/news/newsroom/2026/june/drummond-pso-reach-settlement-that-slashes-proposed-rate-increase-for-oklahoma-consumers.html Settlement announcement, 15% vs 1%, $2.45 Yes
Gann release (June 2, 2026) Oklahoma House of Representatives https://www.okhouse.gov/posts/news-20260602_2 Appeal, dollar claims, docket numbers Yes
Data Center Customer Ratepayer Protection Act Oklahoma Corporation Commission https://oklahoma.gov/occ/divisions/public-utility/energy/electric-utility/data-center-customer-ratepayer-protection-act.html 75 MW definition, citation Yes
PSO data centers page Public Service Company of Oklahoma https://www.psoklahoma.com/company/about/rates/data-centers PSO's position Yes
PSO request on hold (May 2026) OK Energy Today https://okenergytoday.com/2026/05/pso-request-on-hold/ PUD2025-000064, $1.255 billion, deadline, resources Yes
Regulators to meet and deal with rate changes (Oct. 1, 2026) OK Energy Today https://okenergytoday.com/2026/10/regulators-to-meet-and-deal-with-rate-changes-from-utilities/ PUD2025-000075, $597 million, exceptions filers Yes
PSO to invest $1.2 billion (May 13, 2026) KGOU https://www.kgou.org/energy/2026-05-13/pso-to-invest-1-2-billion-in-new-energy-projects-to-meet-growing-demand Vote, CWIP, Commission language Yes
Stitt signs bill (May 13, 2026) KGOU https://www.kgou.org/energy/2026-05-13/stitt-signs-bill-to-prevent-higher-utility-costs-from-data-centers-into-law HB 2992, effective date, positions Yes
Oklahoma Corporation Commission weighs PSO rate case (Sept. 9, 2026) KRMG https://krmg.com/2026/09/09/oklahoma-corporation-commission-weighs-pso-rate-case-as-customers-seek-answers-on-spikes/ ALJ report Aug. 21, interim rates Yes
PSO $11 hike could last longer (Aug. 24, 2026) Tulsa Flyer https://tulsaflyer.org/2026/08/24/your-money/post/pso-11-hike-could-last-longer/ ALJ recommendations, large-load tariff Yes
Oklahoma AG announces settlement (July 1, 2026) Tulsa Flyer https://tulsaflyer.org/2026/07/01/news/post/settlement-cut-proposed-pso-rate-increase/ Interim $11, PSO statement Yes
Case timeline petition.mcalester.net (advocacy site) https://petition.mcalester.net/timeline Lead only: June 26 stipulation No; not used as evidence
OCC electronic case filing, PUD 2025-000064 and PUD 2025-000075 Oklahoma Corporation Commission https://oklahoma.gov/occ.html Orders, testimony No: filings not reached
Beyond smelter talk (June 26, 2026) NonDoc https://nondoc.com/2026/06/26/beyond-smelter-talk-pso-electric-rate-proposal-has-some-feeling-sacrificed-at-the-altar-of-big-business/ Rate proposal coverage No: fetch failed
State regulators approve rate case settlement Daily Energy Insider https://dailyenergyinsider.com/news/46913-state-regulators-approve-rate-case-settlement-for-public-service-company-of-oklahoma/ Unknown; title only No: blocked. This may be an older case; not used

Evidence status and correction history

Key claims

Claim Status Source
PSO's preapproval case is PUD2025-000064 at about $1.255 billion Verified (secondary only) OK Energy Today; Gann release (docket listing)
The Commission approved about $1.2 billion in projects on May 11, 2026 by a 2 to 1 vote (David, Hiett yes; Bingman no) Verified (secondary only) KGOU (date inferred from a Wednesday publication and "Monday")
Battery storage portion is $715 million Verified (secondary only) KGOU
PSO's general rate case is PUD 2025-000075 and was pending as of October 1, 2026 Verified (secondary only) OK Energy Today, Oct. 1, 2026; OCC page lists it as current
PSO's request totaled $597 million Disputed (sources disagree): $597 million (OK Energy Today), $475 million (Gann release), $299 million (outside lead, unopened) As listed
Requested residential increase about 15%, over $25 a month Verified (primary source opened) Oklahoma Attorney General release (an official document stating the figure; not a Commission filing)
Settlement would be about 1%, about $2.45 a month, subject to Commission approval Verified (primary source opened) Oklahoma Attorney General release
Interim rates began July 1, 2026, about $11 a month at 1,100 kWh, refundable Verified (secondary only) KRMG; Tulsa Flyer
ALJ report filed August 21, 2026 Verified (secondary only) KRMG
ALJ Behrens recommended a large-load tariff for loads over 75 MW, which PSO did not sign Verified (secondary only) Tulsa Flyer, Aug. 24, 2026
HB 2992 signed in May 2026, effective July 1, 2026, with 75 MW large-load definition Verified (secondary only) KGOU; OCC page (75 MW wording)
A June 26, 2026 joint large-load stipulation (entry 777), with three service options and specific collateral and exit terms Unverified (not confirmed) Advocacy site only; not found in an OCC filing or news report we opened
The ALJ recommended adopting that stipulation Unverified (not confirmed) Advocacy site only; Tulsa Flyer reports PSO did not sign the large-load proposal
Data centers cause higher residential rates Unverified (not confirmed) No audited allocation or order read; PSO disputes it
Existing customers subsidize data centers Unverified (not confirmed) No finding exists in the sources read
The Commission has issued a final order in PUD 2025-000075 Unverified (not confirmed) None found as of October 25, 2026
Preapproval is under appeal to the Oklahoma Supreme Court (No. 124090) Verified (secondary only) Gann release (the appellant's statement)

Correction history

Date Change Reason
2026-10-25 First publication New case
2026-10-25 Did not publish the June 26 stipulation date, three option terms or "joint" description An earlier outside draft took them from an advocacy site; no OCC filing or news report we opened confirms them, and one news report says PSO did not sign the large-load proposal
2026-10-25 Reported the August 21 ALJ report date as confirmed, but not its stated content An earlier outside draft cited an advocacy site; KRMG, a news report, gives the August 21 date
2026-10-25 Listed $299 million request as conflicting with $597 million An earlier outside draft cited a utility filing we could not open; a news report gives $597 million
2026-10-25 Described the Attorney General release as stating requested and settled figures, not as showing a Commission approval An earlier outside draft's "June 30 settlement" was real, but the release says it is subject to approval

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. Drummond, PSO reach settlement (June 30, 2026)

Publisher
Oklahoma Attorney General
Date
2026
URL
https://oklahoma.gov/oag/news/newsroom/2026/june/drummond-pso-reach-settlement-that-slashes-proposed-rate-increase-for-oklahoma-consumers.html
Supports
Settlement announcement, 15% vs 1%, $2.45
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. Gann release (June 2, 2026)

Publisher
Oklahoma House of Representatives
Date
2026
URL
https://www.okhouse.gov/posts/news-20260602_2
Supports
Appeal, dollar claims, docket numbers
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. Data Center Customer Ratepayer Protection Act

Publisher
Oklahoma Corporation Commission
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://oklahoma.gov/occ/divisions/public-utility/energy/electric-utility/data-center-customer-ratepayer-protection-act.html
Supports
75 MW definition, citation
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. PSO data centers page

Publisher
Public Service Company of Oklahoma
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.psoklahoma.com/company/about/rates/data-centers
Supports
PSO's position
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. PSO request on hold (May 2026)

Publisher
OK Energy Today
Date
2026
URL
https://okenergytoday.com/2026/05/pso-request-on-hold/
Supports
PUD2025-000064, $1.255 billion, deadline, resources
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. Regulators to meet and deal with rate changes (Oct. 1, 2026)

Publisher
OK Energy Today
Date
2026
URL
https://okenergytoday.com/2026/10/regulators-to-meet-and-deal-with-rate-changes-from-utilities/
Supports
PUD2025-000075, $597 million, exceptions filers
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. PSO to invest $1.2 billion (May 13, 2026)

Publisher
KGOU
Date
2026
URL
https://www.kgou.org/energy/2026-05-13/pso-to-invest-1-2-billion-in-new-energy-projects-to-meet-growing-demand
Supports
Vote, CWIP, Commission language
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. Stitt signs bill (May 13, 2026)

Publisher
KGOU
Date
2026
URL
https://www.kgou.org/energy/2026-05-13/stitt-signs-bill-to-prevent-higher-utility-costs-from-data-centers-into-law
Supports
HB 2992, effective date, positions
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. Oklahoma Corporation Commission weighs PSO rate case (Sept. 9, 2026)

Publisher
KRMG
Date
2026
URL
https://krmg.com/2026/09/09/oklahoma-corporation-commission-weighs-pso-rate-case-as-customers-seek-answers-on-spikes/
Supports
ALJ report Aug. 21, interim rates
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. PSO $11 hike could last longer (Aug. 24, 2026)

Publisher
Tulsa Flyer
Date
2026
URL
https://tulsaflyer.org/2026/08/24/your-money/post/pso-11-hike-could-last-longer/
Supports
ALJ recommendations, large-load tariff
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

11. Oklahoma AG announces settlement (July 1, 2026)

Publisher
Tulsa Flyer
Date
2026
URL
https://tulsaflyer.org/2026/07/01/news/post/settlement-cut-proposed-pso-rate-increase/
Supports
Interim $11, PSO statement
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

12. Case timeline

Publisher
petition.mcalester.net (advocacy site)
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://petition.mcalester.net/timeline
Supports
Lead only: June 26 stipulation
Opened by us
No; not used as evidence
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

13. OCC electronic case filing, PUD 2025-000064 and PUD 2025-000075

Publisher
Oklahoma Corporation Commission
Date
2025
URL
https://oklahoma.gov/occ.html
Supports
Orders, testimony
Opened by us
No: filings not reached
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

14. Beyond smelter talk (June 26, 2026)

Publisher
NonDoc
Date
2026
URL
https://nondoc.com/2026/06/26/beyond-smelter-talk-pso-electric-rate-proposal-has-some-feeling-sacrificed-at-the-altar-of-big-business/
Supports
Rate proposal coverage
Opened by us
No: fetch failed
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

15. State regulators approve rate case settlement

Publisher
Daily Energy Insider
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://dailyenergyinsider.com/news/46913-state-regulators-approve-rate-case-settlement-for-public-service-company-of-oklahoma/
Supports
Unknown; title only
Opened by us
No: blocked. This may be an older case; not used
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.

Corrections on the page

DateChangeReason
2026-10-25First publicationNew case
2026-10-25Did not publish the June 26 stipulation date, three option terms or "joint" descriptionAn earlier outside draft took them from an advocacy site; no OCC filing or news report we opened confirms them, and one news report says PSO did not sign the large-load proposal
2026-10-25Reported the August 21 ALJ report date as confirmed, but not its stated contentAn earlier outside draft cited an advocacy site; KRMG, a news report, gives the August 21 date
2026-10-25Listed $299 million request as conflicting with $597 millionAn earlier outside draft cited a utility filing we could not open; a news report gives $597 million
2026-10-25Described the Attorney General release as stating requested and settled figures, not as showing a Commission approvalAn earlier outside draft's "June 30 settlement" was real, but the release says it is subject to approval

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "PSO Electric Rates and Large-Load (Data Center) Cost Allocation (Oklahoma, 2025 to 2026)." Case 70, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/pso-rates.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.