The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/opioid-crisis.html

The Observatory · Case 65 · Public health · 1995 to 2026

The Opioid Crisis (United States, 1995 to 2026)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-25
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=opioid-crisis
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

WarningNot yet reviewed by a person. Treat this page as a draft.DetailsHide details

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft. Review history

After FDA approved OxyContin in 1995, prescription and then illicit opioids drove U.S. overdose deaths from 25,785 in 2003 to 107,941 in 2022; courts, regulators and states responded with pleas, bankruptcy and settlements, while the public learned of key internal facts years later.

In brief

FDA approved OxyContin in December 1995, believing its slow-release design might reduce abuse. Over the next decade the manufacturer promoted it widely, and in 2007 the company pleaded guilty to misbranding the drug as less addictive. The Justice Department's inspector general later found that the DEA allowed oxycodone production to rise 400% between 2002 and 2013 and was slow to respond. Federal data show 25,785 overdose deaths of all drug types in 2003 and 107,941 in 2022, with most recent deaths involving synthetic opioids. Distributors and Johnson & Johnson agreed in 2021 to pay up to $26 billion, and in 2024 the Supreme Court ruled 5 to 4 that bankruptcy could not release the Sackler family from victims' claims without their consent. A new $7.4 billion plan was approved in November 2025. The record shows that the information that mattered sat with companies and agencies, and the public learned much of it from pleas, audits and lawsuits years later.

The record

Approval and early marketing

The 2007 guilty plea

Regulators and enforcement

Prescribing guidelines

Deaths, with data vintage

All figures below come from one source: NCHS Data Brief No. 522, published December 2024, using National Vital Statistics System final mortality files. Rates are age-adjusted per 100,000 using the 2000 standard population. (NCHS Data Brief 522; opened)

| Year | All drug overdose deaths | Rate | Synthetic opioids other than methadone | |---|---|---| | 2003 | 25,785 | not read | not read | | 2021 | 106,699 | 32.4 | 70,601 (21.8) | | 2022 | 107,941 | 32.6 | 73,838 (22.7) | | 2023 | 105,007 | 31.3 | 72,776 (22.2) |

Settlements and bankruptcy

Event Terms Source
2007 plea (Purdue Frederick) $634,515,475 total, felony misbranding DOJ release copy
Oct. 2020 DOJ resolution with Purdue Pharma Criminal fine $3.544 billion; forfeiture $2 billion (Purdue pays $225 million at bankruptcy effect; up to $1.775 billion creditable for value delivered to governments); civil False Claims Act $2.8 billion as an unsecured bankruptcy claim; Sackler family $225 million civil; three-count felony information; "no criminal release" for individuals DOJ announcement via oversight.gov
July 21, 2021 distributor and J&J agreements Up to $26 billion: distributors (Cardinal Health, McKesson, AmerisourceBergen) up to $21 billion over 18 years; Johnson & Johnson up to $5 billion over 9 years; 10-year injunctive terms Pennsylvania Attorney General release
June 27, 2024 Supreme Court Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., No. 23-124, decided 5 to 4: Bankruptcy Code does not authorize a plan release of nondebtor claims without claimants' consent Slip opinion
Nov. 18, 2025 new plan $7.4 billion; Sacklers $1.5 billion first payment, then $500 million, $500 million and $400 million at one, two and three years; funds over 15 years; about 9,300 local governments opted in New York Attorney General release

(DOJ announcement via oversight.gov; Pennsylvania AG, July 21, 2021; Harrington v. Purdue slip opinion; New York AG, 2025; all opened)

Positions in the record

What this case shows

  1. Key facts were not visible to prescribers or patients when decisions were made. The 2007 statement of facts shows internal knowledge (reports of abuse by March 2000, a 68% extraction figure) that sat alongside sales claims. Ordinary people could not weigh what they were not told. (DOJ release copy)
  2. The public rules were set at moments most people never saw. An FDA label sentence, a DEA annual quota and a prescribing guideline each shaped supply. The inspector general found that quotas rose 400% from 2002 to 2013. No vote or hearing most voters followed set those numbers. (DOJ OIG)
  3. The bankruptcy route narrowed who could object. The Supreme Court held that victims' claims against nondebtor family members could not be released without consent, so the people harmed were placed at the center of the legal question. The dissent warned this could leave victims worse off. Both readings are in the record. (Slip opinion)
  4. Who paid and who is covered is uneven. The settlements pay governments. Individual victims and families recover through plan trusts or not at all, and the 2020 DOJ resolution contained no criminal release for individuals. (DOJ announcement; NY AG)
  5. Harm shifted to a different supply. Deaths rose from 25,785 in 2003 to more than 100,000 a year, with synthetic opioids other than methadone accounting for about 70 to 74 thousand in 2021 to 2023. People managing pain, people with addiction and people who never used prescriptions were affected by different parts of the system. (NCHS)

The strongest objections, and our answers

  1. Objection: FDA approved the label, so blame sits with the regulator. Purdue says the key sentence came from FDA. Mitigation: we state that position. The 2007 plea records marketing claims FDA had not approved, and GAO says FDA called the original wording "unfortunate." We do not assign a share of fault.
  2. Objection: Prescribers and patients also chose these drugs, and pain was undertreated before. Mitigation: Agreed that the record includes legitimate pain care. CDC's 2022 update says the 2016 guideline was misapplied through rigid dose limits. Harm from under-treatment is not quantified in sources we opened.
  3. Objection: Most deaths now involve illicit fentanyl, not prescriptions. Mitigation: Correct. We show synthetic opioids in the NCHS table. The brief does not identify the source of the synthetic opioids, so we do not claim the prescription period caused the later shift; that is an open question.
  4. Objection: The $26 billion headline overstates actual money. Mitigation: We write "up to," show the 18-year and 9-year schedules and flag that final totals depend on participation.
  5. Objection: Settlements without trial leave facts unproven. Mitigation: The 2007 and 2020 matters are guilty pleas, which are admissions. The distributor and J&J agreements are civil settlements; we do not state those companies' conduct as proven findings.

Open questions: what would change our minds

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
NCHS Data Brief 522 CDC/NCHS https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/databriefs/db522.htm Death counts 2003, 2021 to 2023 Yes
VSRR provisional drug overdose data CDC/NCHS https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nvss/vsrr/drug-overdose-data.htm Vintage notes Yes
data.cdc.gov dataset xkb8-kh2a CDC https://data.cdc.gov/resource/xkb8-kh2a.json Provisional 12-month counts Yes
Purdue Frederick plea release (copy) U.S. Department of Defense host https://media.defense.gov/2007/May/10/2001711223/-1/-1/1/purdue_frederick_1.pdf 2007 plea Yes
Global resolution announcement DOJ via oversight.gov https://www.oversight.gov/justice-department-announces-global-resolution-criminal-and-civil-investigations-opioid 2020 amounts Yes
Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., No. 23-124 Supreme Court https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/23pdf/23-124_8nk0.pdf 2024 holding Yes
$26 billion agreements Pennsylvania Attorney General https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/?p=25206 Distributor and J&J terms Yes
Purdue plan approval New York Attorney General https://ag.ny.gov/press-release/2025/attorney-general-james-secures-approval-purdue-bankruptcy-plan 2025 plan Yes
OxyContin Abuse and Diversion, GAO-04-110 GAO via govinfo https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-110/html/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-110.htm Label, marketing, FDA oversight Yes, first 100,000 characters
FDA timeline FDA https://www.fda.gov/drugs/food-and-drug-administration-overdose-prevention-framework/timeline-selected-fda-activities-and-significant-events-addressing-substance-use-and-overdose Approval, labels Yes, in part
DEA regulatory review DOJ OIG https://oig.justice.gov/news/doj-oig-releases-report-drug-enforcement-administrations-regulatory-and-enforcement-efforts Quotas Yes, announcement only
CDC guideline 2016 CDC MMWR https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/rr/rr6501e1.htm Guideline Yes, in part
CDC guideline 2022 CDC MMWR https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/rr/rr7103a1.htm Update Yes, in part
Purdue statement, Dec. 2017 Marketplace https://www.marketplace.org/story/2017/12/13/purdue-statement Company position Yes
DOJ 2007 and 2020 press pages on justice.gov DOJ not reachable Primary originals No, fetch failed

Evidence status and correction history

Key claims

Claim Status Source
FDA approved OxyContin in December 1995 Verified (secondary only) FDA timeline (agency page, but not the approval letter)
Original label said controlled release "believed to reduce" abuse potential Verified (secondary only) GAO-04-110 quoting the label
Purdue Frederick pleaded guilty May 10, 2007; total $634,515,475 Verified (secondary only) DOJ release copy on a DoD host
2007 statement of facts: about 68% extractable from a 10 mg tablet Verified (secondary only) Same release
DEA authorized a 400% oxycodone production increase 2002 to 2013 Verified (secondary only) OIG announcement page
DEA cut oxycodone quota 25% in 2017 Verified (secondary only) OIG announcement page
U.S. overdose deaths: 25,785 (2003), 106,699 (2021), 107,941 (2022), 105,007 (2023) Verified (primary source opened) NCHS Data Brief 522
Synthetic opioids other than methadone: 70,601 (2021), 73,838 (2022), 72,776 (2023) Verified (primary source opened) NCHS Data Brief 522
Provisional 12-month count 65,351 ending May 2026 Verified (primary source opened) data.cdc.gov dataset xkb8-kh2a; subject to revision
2020 DOJ resolution: $3.544 billion fine, $2 billion forfeiture, $2.8 billion civil, Sackler $225 million Verified (primary source opened) DOJ announcement via oversight.gov
Date of the 2020 DOJ announcement (October 21, 2020) Unverified (not confirmed) Only a secondary search result; page had no date
Harrington v. Purdue decided June 27, 2024, 5 to 4, Gorsuch for the Court Verified (primary source opened) Slip opinion
Distributors and J&J agreements announced July 21, 2021, up to $26 billion ($21 billion plus $5 billion) Verified (secondary only) Pennsylvania AG release (a party to the deal, not the agreement text)
New Purdue plan confirmed November 18, 2025, $7.4 billion Verified (secondary only) New York AG release
New plan has taken effect Unverified (not confirmed) Not opened
CDC guideline 2016 date March 18; update November 4, 2022 Verified (primary source opened) CDC MMWR pages
Fentanyl alone caused a stated share of deaths Unverified (not confirmed) NCHS category is broader

Correction history

Date Change Reason
2026-10-25 First publication New case

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. NCHS Data Brief 522

Publisher
CDC/NCHS
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/databriefs/db522.htm
Supports
Death counts 2003, 2021 to 2023
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. VSRR provisional drug overdose data

Publisher
CDC/NCHS
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nvss/vsrr/drug-overdose-data.htm
Supports
Vintage notes
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. data.cdc.gov dataset xkb8-kh2a

Publisher
CDC
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://data.cdc.gov/resource/xkb8-kh2a.json
Supports
Provisional 12-month counts
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. Purdue Frederick plea release (copy)

Publisher
U.S. Department of Defense host
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://media.defense.gov/2007/May/10/2001711223/-1/-1/1/purdue_frederick_1.pdf
Supports
2007 plea
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Global resolution announcement

Publisher
DOJ via oversight.gov
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.oversight.gov/justice-department-announces-global-resolution-criminal-and-civil-investigations-opioid
Supports
2020 amounts
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., No. 23-124

Publisher
Supreme Court
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/23pdf/23-124_8nk0.pdf
Supports
2024 holding
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. $26 billion agreements

Publisher
Pennsylvania Attorney General
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/?p=25206
Supports
Distributor and J&J terms
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. Purdue plan approval

Publisher
New York Attorney General
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://ag.ny.gov/press-release/2025/attorney-general-james-secures-approval-purdue-bankruptcy-plan
Supports
2025 plan
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. OxyContin Abuse and Diversion, GAO-04-110

Publisher
GAO via govinfo
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-110/html/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-110.htm
Supports
Label, marketing, FDA oversight
Opened by us
Yes, first 100,000 characters
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. FDA timeline

Publisher
FDA
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/food-and-drug-administration-overdose-prevention-framework/timeline-selected-fda-activities-and-significant-events-addressing-substance-use-and-overdose
Supports
Approval, labels
Opened by us
Yes, in part
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

11. DEA regulatory review

Publisher
DOJ OIG
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://oig.justice.gov/news/doj-oig-releases-report-drug-enforcement-administrations-regulatory-and-enforcement-efforts
Supports
Quotas
Opened by us
Yes, announcement only
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

12. CDC guideline 2016

Publisher
CDC MMWR
Date
2016
URL
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/rr/rr6501e1.htm
Supports
Guideline
Opened by us
Yes, in part
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

13. CDC guideline 2022

Publisher
CDC MMWR
Date
2022
URL
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/rr/rr7103a1.htm
Supports
Update
Opened by us
Yes, in part
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

14. Purdue statement, Dec. 2017

Publisher
Marketplace
Date
2017
URL
https://www.marketplace.org/story/2017/12/13/purdue-statement
Supports
Company position
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

15. DOJ 2007 and 2020 press pages on justice.gov

Publisher
DOJ
Date
2007
URL
not reachable
Supports
Primary originals
Opened by us
No, fetch failed
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.

Corrections on the page

DateChangeReason
2026-10-25First publicationNew case

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "The Opioid Crisis (United States, 1995 to 2026)." Case 65, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/opioid-crisis.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.