The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/hava.html

The Observatory · Case 68 · Rights · 2000 to 2025

Help America Vote Act (United States, 2000 to 2025)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-25
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=hava
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

WarningNot yet reviewed by a person. Treat this page as a draft.DetailsHide details

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft. Review history

After the disputed 2000 presidential count, Congress passed a 2002 law that gave states money and new federal minimums for voting machines, voter lists, provisional ballots and first-time mail-registrant ID, and the record shows promised funds, access and security goals pulling in different directions.

In brief

On December 12, 2000, the Supreme Court ended Florida's recount in Bush v. Gore, holding that uneven recount standards violated equal protection. Less than two years later, on October 29, 2002, President Bush signed the Help America Vote Act. It created the Election Assistance Commission and set federal minimums: voting systems that let a voter check the ballot, a statewide voter list, provisional ballots for voters whose names were not found, and ID for some first-time voters who registered by mail. Congress authorized about $3.86 billion and, by 2010, had appropriated about $3.54 billion. The ID rule is narrow, yet the national debate over photo ID shows how access and security goals collide. A 2005 commission urged photo ID, and one of its members warned it could block eligible voters. The record shows who wrote the rules and what they say. It does not show, in the sources we read, how many voters were helped or turned away.

The record

What the law is

Provisional ballots (52 U.S.C. 21082)

Statewide list and first-time mail registrants (52 U.S.C. 21083)

Money: authorized and appropriated

Item Figure Source
Title I payments (section 104) authorized $650,000,000, split evenly between section 101 and section 102 Pub. L. 107-252
Punch-card or lever replacement (section 102) $4,000 per qualifying precinct Pub. L. 107-252
Requirements payments (section 257) authorized $1.4 billion (FY2003), $1.0 billion (FY2004), $600 million (FY2005), total $3.0 billion Pub. L. 107-252
EAC operations (section 210) "such sums as may be necessary (but not to exceed $10,000,000 for each such year)" for FY2003 to FY2005 Pub. L. 107-252
Total authorized by HAVA $3.86 billion CRS RS20898 (2011)
Total appropriated through FY2010 $3.54 billion (table total 3,535 million) CRS RS20898 (2011)
Requirements payments appropriated $2.613 billion (FY2003 $830 million; FY2004 $1,498 million; FY2008 $115 million; FY2009 $100 million; FY2010 $70 million) CRS RS20898 (2011)

Context: Bush v. Gore

Later review of the rules

Timeline

Date Event Source
Dec. 12, 2000 Supreme Court decides Bush v. Gore Justia
Oct. 29, 2002 HAVA signed EAC; GovInfo
FY2003 to FY2004 Most requirements payments appropriated ($830 million, $1,498 million) CRS
Sept. 2005 Carter-Baker commission report recommends photo ID and paper records Nextgov
FY2008 to FY2010 Smaller requirements payments ($115 million, $100 million, $70 million) CRS
June 22, 2011 House vote of 235 to 187 on H.R. 672 to eliminate the EAC fails under a two-thirds rule CRS

What this case shows

  1. A public failure led to a public rule. A recount dispute that ended in a Supreme Court order was followed by a statute with open text, a named commission and enforcement by the Attorney General. People could read the minimums and see who had to meet them. (Justia; Pub. L. 107-252)
  2. Access tools were put in the law. The provisional ballot gives a voter who is missing from the list a way to vote, and the law requires a free way to learn whether it counted and why not. That is information given back to the ordinary voter. (52 U.S.C. 21082)
  3. Security and access were both built in, and they pull apart. The ID rule for first-time mail registrants and the matching of license or Social Security digits are aimed at fraud and list accuracy. The 2005 commission's debate shows the same rules can be read as a barrier. The record does not settle which risk is larger. (52 U.S.C. 21083; Nextgov; CRS)
  4. Authorization is not funding. Congress authorized about $3.86 billion and had appropriated about $3.54 billion by FY2010. States were told to meet standards, and the money to do it depended on later votes. Local officials and voters could not tell from the statute alone what would be paid for. (CRS)
  5. Counting a provisional ballot depends on state law. The federal text sends the eligibility decision to the state. Two voters in two states can cast the same kind of ballot and face different rules for counting it. (52 U.S.C. 21082)

The strongest objections, and our answers

  1. Objection: HAVA fixed what went wrong in 2000. Supporters can point to replaced punch-card systems, statewide lists and provisional ballots. Mitigation: we list these as stated goals and funded programs. We did not find outcome measures in our sources, such as error or rejection rates by year, so we make no claim that problems were reduced.
  2. Objection: ID rules protect the integrity of elections. Mitigation: Yes. The Carter-Baker commission, which included both parties' figures, urged photo ID. We report the rule, the commission's proposal and the dissent, and CRS's statement that the effect is unresolved.
  3. Objection: ID and list-matching rules keep eligible people from voting. Mitigation: The federal rule is narrow and has several routes (license number, Social Security digits, a bill or bank record). We do not claim a number of people were blocked, because we did not find a source that measures it.
  4. Objection: Congress underfunded the Act. Mitigation: The gap between $3.86 billion authorized and $3.54 billion appropriated through FY2010 is from CRS. We did not read why. Congress also did not repeal the standards, and states had other funds we did not review.
  5. Objection: Bush v. Gore is partisan ground and should not frame HAVA. Mitigation: We state only what the Court held and what CRS says about pending bills. We do not assess the ruling and do not link any party to HAVA's design.
  6. Objection: Cornell LII is not the Statutes at Large. Mitigation: It is a copy of the U.S. Code, which codifies the Act. The GovInfo public law page would not show the operative text of sections 302 and 303 in our read. A reader should check the Code on uscode.house.gov.

Open questions: what would change our minds

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
Public Law 107-252 (H.R. 3295) U.S. Government Publishing Office https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ252/html/PLAW-107publ252.htm Sections 101 to 104, 201 to 210, 257, 301 text; date Yes, partly (cut off before 302 to 906)
52 U.S.C. 21082, provisional voting Cornell Legal Information Institute https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/52/21082 Provisional ballot rules Yes
52 U.S.C. 21083, statewide list and mail registrants Cornell Legal Information Institute https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/52/21083 ID rules, exemptions Yes
Help America Vote Act U.S. Election Assistance Commission https://www.eac.gov/about/help-america-vote-act Date signed, purposes, EAC role Yes
The Help America Vote Act and Elections (RS20898, 2011) Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/20110627_RS20898_5db0041ebfba86302067f4b114f745e5e6680bdb.html Authorized and appropriated totals, EAC history, ID Yes
Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000) Justia https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/531/98/ Holding, date Yes, first 100,000 characters
Commission recommends voting safeguards (2005) Nextgov https://nextgov.com/people/2005/09/commission-recommends-voting-safeguards/208732 Carter-Baker recommendations, dissent Yes
EAVS Overview and 2024 Findings (IF13056) CRS via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2025-07-08_IF13056_50066ae6f3fa3d3192907e682401a604f50a1a75.html All but four states offer provisional ballots; no counts Yes
2024 EAVS Report U.S. Election Assistance Commission https://eac.gov/sites/default/files/2025-07/2024_EAVS_Report_508.pdf Provisional ballot counts No: returned as binary data
EAC Report to Congress on State Expenditures of HAVA Funds 2003 to 2006 U.S. Election Assistance Commission https://www.eac.gov/sites/default/files/eac_assets/1/6/EAC Report to Congress on State Expenditures of HAVA Funds 2003-2006.pdf State spending No: fetch failed

Evidence status and correction history

Key claims

Claim Status Source
HAVA was signed on October 29, 2002 Verified (primary source opened) GovInfo public law page (date listed); EAC page (signed by President Bush)
HAVA created the EAC with four presidentially appointed, Senate-confirmed members; three votes needed for action Verified (primary source opened) Pub. L. 107-252, sections 201, 203, 208
Section 104 authorizes $650,000,000 for Title I payments Verified (primary source opened) Pub. L. 107-252, section 104(a)
Requirements payments authorized at $1.4 billion, $1.0 billion and $600 million for FY2003 to FY2005 ($3.0 billion) Verified (primary source opened) Pub. L. 107-252, section 257
HAVA authorized a total of about $3.86 billion Verified (secondary only) CRS RS20898 (2011)
About $3.54 billion had been appropriated through FY2010 Verified (secondary only) CRS RS20898 (2011)
Requirements payments appropriated: $2.613 billion of $3.0 billion authorized Verified (secondary only) CRS RS20898 (2011)
The "$3.9 billion" figure matches money appropriated Disputed (sources disagree): about $3.86 billion authorized vs about $3.54 billion appropriated by FY2010 CRS RS20898 (2011)
A voter not on the list may cast a provisional ballot and must be able to check if it counted Verified (primary source opened) 52 U.S.C. 21082 (Cornell copy of the U.S. Code)
Eligibility for counting a provisional ballot is decided under state law Verified (primary source opened) 52 U.S.C. 21082
First-time voters who registered by mail must show current photo ID or a document such as a utility bill, unless exempt Verified (primary source opened) 52 U.S.C. 21083 (Cornell copy of the U.S. Code)
Applications must include a driver's license number or last four digits of the Social Security number Verified (primary source opened) 52 U.S.C. 21083
Bush v. Gore was decided December 12, 2000; equal protection holding; 5 to 4 on remedy Verified (primary source opened) Justia, 531 U.S. 98
In 2005 the Carter-Baker commission recommended universal photo ID, and a member dissented Verified (secondary only) Nextgov
State ID rules vary widely and the effect on fraud and access is unresolved Verified (secondary only) CRS RS20898 (2011)
The EAC has never been reauthorized but has been funded since FY2005 Verified (secondary only) CRS RS20898 (2011, current to that year)
HAVA reduced voting errors or provisional ballot rejection Unverified (not confirmed) No outcome source opened
Effective dates of sections 301 to 303 Unverified (not confirmed) Operative text of those sections was not opened in the public law

Correction history

Date Change Reason
2026-10-25 First publication New case
2026-10-25 Authorization total stated as about $3.86 billion authorized and $3.54 billion appropriated through FY2010 An earlier outside draft's "$3.9 billion" figure was an authorization, not an appropriation; the CRS figures differ
2026-10-25 Statute text for sections 302 and 303 taken from the U.S. Code, not the public law page The public law page was cut off before those sections in our read

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. Public Law 107-252 (H.R. 3295)

Publisher
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ252/html/PLAW-107publ252.htm
Supports
Sections 101 to 104, 201 to 210, 257, 301 text; date
Opened by us
Yes, partly (cut off before 302 to 906)
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. 52 U.S.C. 21082, provisional voting

Publisher
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/52/21082
Supports
Provisional ballot rules
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. 52 U.S.C. 21083, statewide list and mail registrants

Publisher
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/52/21083
Supports
ID rules, exemptions
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. Help America Vote Act

Publisher
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.eac.gov/about/help-america-vote-act
Supports
Date signed, purposes, EAC role
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. The Help America Vote Act and Elections (RS20898, 2011)

Publisher
Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport
Date
2011
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/20110627_RS20898_5db0041ebfba86302067f4b114f745e5e6680bdb.html
Supports
Authorized and appropriated totals, EAC history, ID
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000)

Publisher
Justia
Date
2000
URL
https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/531/98/
Supports
Holding, date
Opened by us
Yes, first 100,000 characters
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. Commission recommends voting safeguards (2005)

Publisher
Nextgov
Date
2005
URL
https://nextgov.com/people/2005/09/commission-recommends-voting-safeguards/208732
Supports
Carter-Baker recommendations, dissent
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. EAVS Overview and 2024 Findings (IF13056)

Publisher
CRS via EveryCRSReport
Date
2024
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2025-07-08_IF13056_50066ae6f3fa3d3192907e682401a604f50a1a75.html
Supports
All but four states offer provisional ballots; no counts
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. 2024 EAVS Report

Publisher
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
Date
2024
URL
https://eac.gov/sites/default/files/2025-07/2024_EAVS_Report_508.pdf
Supports
Provisional ballot counts
Opened by us
No: returned as binary data
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. EAC Report to Congress on State Expenditures of HAVA Funds 2003 to 2006

Publisher
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
Date
2003
URL
https://www.eac.gov/sites/default/files/eac_assets/1/6/EAC Report to Congress on State Expenditures of HAVA Funds 2003-2006.pdf
Supports
State spending
Opened by us
No: fetch failed
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.

Corrections on the page

DateChangeReason
2026-10-25First publicationNew case
2026-10-25Authorization total stated as about $3.86 billion authorized and $3.54 billion appropriated through FY2010An earlier outside draft's "$3.9 billion" figure was an authorization, not an appropriation; the CRS figures differ
2026-10-25Statute text for sections 302 and 303 taken from the U.S. Code, not the public law pageThe public law page was cut off before those sections in our read

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "Help America Vote Act (United States, 2000 to 2025)." Case 68, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/hava.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.