The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/green-corn-rebellion.html
The Observatory · Case 13 · Labor and land · 1917
Green Corn Rebellion (Seminole, Pontotoc and Hughes Counties, Oklahoma, August 1917)
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-19. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
1. Review status
- Status
- Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
- Verified by
- No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
- Sources checked
- 2026-10-19
- Review history
- https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=green-corn-rebellion
- Packet built
- 2026-10-28
2. The article
In early August 1917, a few hundred tenant farmers in rural Oklahoma, many tied to the Working Class Union, rose against the military draft; the uprising ended within days, and the counts of how many were arrested, tried, convicted and sentenced differ by source, from 86 to 175.
In brief
In August 1917, a few hundred tenant farmers, many linked to a group called the Working Class Union, gathered in southeastern Oklahoma to resist the new military draft. They cut telegraph lines and burned railroad bridges, and three rebels died; the rising was over within days. Authorities arrested about 458 men, and 266 were later released for lack of evidence. Federal prosecutors charged the rest, mostly with conspiracy to obstruct the draft, and the sentences ran from 60 days to ten years. How many were convicted is still disputed: sources say 86, about 150 or 175. The Oklahoma Historical Society, citing a scholar's work, says 150. What is clear is that the people who rose were men who had no vote on the draft and little land, and that the public record of what the courts did to them is harder to read than it should be.
The record
Background: land, debt and the draft
- By 1917 "over half" of Oklahoma's farmers were tenants, after speculation and falling crop prices. Many saw the war as "a rich man's war, poor man's fight." (Oklahoma Historical Society, Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture, entry by Nigel Sellars; opened)
- The Working Class Union (WCU) was based in Van Buren, Arkansas. It claimed 35,000 members in Oklahoma, which the OHS entry calls "questionable." One other account puts it at 18,000 to 35,000. Membership rose when cotton prices collapsed in 1914 to 1915, fell when prices rose in 1916, and revived after the United States entered the war. (OHS entry; Chris Mahin, "Oklahoma's dispossessed rebel against poverty and a 'rich man's war,'" via libcom.org; opened)
- The Selective Service Act became law on May 18, 1917, and the Espionage Act followed on June 15, 1917. (Sellars, 2002 law review article, hosted by the National Agricultural Law Center; opened, partly; the fetched text was truncated)
- The IWW and the Socialist Party had no official role in the rising, though authorities used it to pursue both. The Oklahoma Socialist Party disbanded afterward. (OHS entry)
Timeline
| Date |
Event |
Source |
| May 1917 |
WCU leaders Rube Munson and Homer Spence charged with conspiracy to obstruct the draft; Munson's federal warrant is dated May 28 |
Sellars 2002 |
| July 31, 1917 |
Federal indictment of 15 men in the "Jones Family" case (a WCU night-riding group, label disputed by Sellars) |
Sellars 2002 |
| Early August 1917 |
Hundreds of white, Black and American Indian men gather at the Sasakwa farm of John Spears |
OHS entry |
| August 2, 1917 |
Sheriff Frank Grall and deputy Will Cross are ambushed near the Little River; raiders cut lines and burn railroad bridges |
Wikipedia; Smithsonian Magazine |
| August 3, 1917 |
Armed gathering on the Pontotoc, Seminole and Hughes county borders; OHS dates bridge burning and wire cutting to this day |
Wikipedia; OHS |
| About 7 days later |
Authorities crush the rising; a roundup follows |
Mahin; Smithsonian |
| End of August 1917 |
257 prisoners still held at McAlester |
Sellars 2002 |
| October 1, 1917 |
Federal grand jury at McAlester returns indictments (Sellars reports "220" true bills and no-bills; the text is cut off) |
Sellars 2002 |
| Mid-October 1917 |
Only 38 prisoners, mostly principal leaders, remain in custody after bonds were reduced |
Sellars 2002 |
| 1921 |
"Some leaders" received a presidential pardon (Mahin; not confirmed elsewhere) |
Mahin |
| February 1922 |
Five men still in Leavenworth |
Wikipedia (no primary seen) |
Who was involved and what they faced
- Deaths: three men died in the fighting (OHS; Wikipedia; Smithsonian; Clio). One of the three was Clifford Clark, a Black tenant farmer (Wikipedia). Smithsonian adds an innocent schoolteacher shot at a roadblock. Sellars's 2002 article says "four men were dead" in the introduction but "Three rebels died" later, plus one non-rebel schoolteacher. The four-versus-three gap is probably the schoolteacher; this is our inference, not stated.
- Charges: the rebels were first considered for treason but were charged with conspiracy to obstruct the draft. (Sellars 2002)
- Federal prosecutors named in Sellars: U.S. Attorneys John Fain and W. P. McGinnis and assistants Redmond Cole and W. J. Turnbull. Judge John Hazelton Cotteral heard the Enid trial. Defense lawyers named: Patrick Nagle, John Carney, Ben Williams and Roscoe Arrington. Over eighty witnesses testified at Enid.
- Bail: $10,000 for major leaders, $5,000 to $7,500 for lesser leaders, $500 to $5,000 for others. By one group count, only three of about 50 prisoners made bail. (Sellars 2002)
- Confessions: 32 full confessions were obtained by August 10. A government witness, J. C. Harrod, attempted suicide to avoid testifying, and another witness, Scott Mitchell, was arrested for perjury. (Sellars 2002)
- Leniency: McGinnis concluded most rebels had been duped and recommended parole for most. One defendant, Spearman Dalby, was released after offering to serve in the army. (Sellars 2002)
- Jones Family trial at Enid: the jury convicted 8 of 11 men on conspiracy and acquitted three (Daniel Isenhour, Frank Banning, J. L. Bohannon). Judge Cotteral sentenced the eight to six years in Leavenworth and fined each $5,000; an appeals court later upheld the verdict. (Sellars 2002) This is one trial, not the whole rebellion.
Disputed numbers: arrests, trials, convictions, sentences
One source (Oklahoma Historical Society) says 150 were convicted. A separate article says 86 were sentenced, without a source. Every figure we found, by source:
| Source (opened) |
Arrested |
Released / not charged |
Charged or indicted |
Convicted or sentenced |
Sentence range |
Notes |
| OHS Encyclopedia |
"more than 400" |
none given |
none given |
150 convicted |
up to 10 years |
Federal terms |
| Wikipedia |
about 450 detained |
266 |
184 |
"about 150" convicted or pleaded guilty |
60 days to 10 years |
Cites Sellars and Burbank |
| Sellars 2002 (law review) |
458 (intro says "450") |
266 |
192 "to face trial"; grand jury returned "220" true bills and no-bills |
Only the 8 Jones Family convictions were visible in the text we could read; also says "about a third" of rebels "eventually served state and federal sentences" |
6 years for the Jones Family 8 |
Text truncated; later pages not read |
| Clio |
400 |
none |
none |
150 |
60 days to 10 years |
Tertiary; cites Sellars |
| Mahin via libcom |
450 |
none |
184 |
150 |
not stated |
Socialist-leaning source; cites period papers |
| Smithsonian Magazine, Oct. 2019 |
458 |
about two-thirds |
none |
86 "pleaded guilty and were sentenced" |
"one to ten years" |
Captions say 28 served at Leavenworth |
| The Oklahoma 100 |
458 |
none |
none |
86 sentenced |
not stated |
Credits the Smithsonian issue; says two at Leavenworth |
| Bertha Hale White, 1922 (Socialist Party official) |
"nearly 300" involved |
none |
none |
175 sentenced at Ardmore "the following October" |
"30 days in jail to 10 years" |
Contemporary partisan account |
| Lawyers, Guns & Money |
none |
none |
none |
"around 100" sent to prison |
up to 10 years |
Blog, no sources |
What reconciles and what does not:
- Arrests agree within a few: 450 to 458, plus a "more than 400" round figure. Sellars is the only source we opened that gives an exact 458 with the 266 releases. 458 minus 266 is 192, which matches his "192 to face trial." Wikipedia and Mahin say 184 charged. The 8-person gap is unresolved.
- The 150 figure has the widest support (OHS, Wikipedia, Clio, Mahin), but the three that carry it appear to descend from Sellars. Sellars's own "about a third" matches roughly 150 of 450 to 458.
- The 86 figure comes from one Smithsonian piece (repeated by a local site). It says guilty pleas, not total convictions. A plausible, but unverified, reading is that 86 counts pleas only and 150 counts all convictions. We could not confirm this.
- The 175 figure is from a 1922 partisan article that also says "nearly 300" were involved. We treat it as a contemporaneous claim, not a count.
- No primary record of the total (the federal court docket, grand jury returns, or Leavenworth and Bureau of Prisons intake files at the National Archives) was opened. The count cannot be settled from what we have. We state a range: about 86 to 175 sentenced, with 150 the most repeated.
What this case shows
- Rural people with little land had no ordinary channel left. Over half of Oklahoma's farmers were tenants, the war was called "a rich man's war," and the draft covered men with no say in the decision. OHS notes that organizing (WCU) grew with falling crop prices. Our question is what people could vote on and fix. Here the dispute was about a national decision already made. (OHS)
- The state answered with mass detention before it sorted guilt. Of 458 arrested, 266 were released for insufficient evidence at preliminary hearings. At the end of August 257 were still held at McAlester. Most could not make bail. Detention came first and release came later, after bonds were cut and landowners posted bail for some tenants. (Sellars 2002)
- Who had a lawyer and a hearing is visible in the record. The Jones Family defendants had named defense counsel and a long trial; three were acquitted on health, youth and limited involvement. Yet the Espionage Act context, 32 early confessions and a witness arrested for perjury show how thin the process could be for others. (Sellars 2002)
- The public record of the total outcome is itself unclear. Nobody can say from the sources we opened how many were convicted: 86, 150 or 175. A reader can look up a death toll for a labor battle; here the conviction count is contested. Our question is what ordinary people could know. A clear docket would let them know.
- Leniency came from officials, not from a right. McGinnis recommended parole for most rebels on his own view that they were "duped." Release depended on prosecutors' judgment. (Sellars 2002)
The strongest objections, and our answers
- Objection: This was armed insurrection, not a civic dispute. Men burned bridges, cut wires and ambushed a sheriff's party; three rebels died. Mitigation: Agreed. The case does not defend the violence. It asks how the state handled hundreds of arrests and what the public can now check. The record shows crime and weak process together.
- Objection: The courts were doing wartime enforcement under valid laws. The Selective Service Act and the Espionage Act were lawful, and an appeals court upheld the Jones Family verdict. Mitigation: True. We report that the law was followed on its terms. We do not claim the trials were unlawful; we note what is missing from the public record.
- Objection: The conviction numbers are just sloppy secondary writing. Mitigation: That is the point of the table. Tertiary and popular pieces repeat 150 or 86; none we opened points to a docket. The most careful source (Sellars) was only partly readable. We state a range and say which figures rest on which sources.
- Objection: WCU numbers and motives are inflated by sympathetic writers. Mitigation: OHS itself calls the 35,000-member claim "questionable." We give the claim and its doubt. We rely on OHS and Sellars, not on partisan accounts, for the core facts.
- Objection: Pardons show the system corrected itself. Mitigation: Partly. Most rebels were soon paroled or pardoned (Wikipedia, no primary), some leaders were pardoned in 1921 (Mahin), and five were still in Leavenworth in February 1922. Release came by executive grace, years after the sentences.
Open questions: what would change our minds
- The federal court docket and grand jury returns (U.S. District Courts for the Eastern and Western Districts of Oklahoma, held at the National Archives) would settle how many were indicted, pleaded guilty and were convicted. Not opened.
- Leavenworth intake records would settle how many served federal time (Smithsonian captions say 28; a local site says two). Not opened.
- We could not read the final pages of Sellars's 2002 article. His totals for Ardmore trials, Munson and Spence sentences, and the number of guilty pleas are unverified.
- The 1921 pardon claim and the "most were soon paroled or pardoned" claim rest on secondary writing only. Unverified.
- The death count: three rebels (OHS) versus Sellars's one "four men were dead." Unverified; names of the three are not all confirmed (only Clifford Clark is named, in Wikipedia).
- Whether 86 means guilty pleas only. Unverified.
- The WCU membership figure (18,000 to 35,000) is not independently documented.
- Burbank, When Farmers Voted Red (1976), and Sellars, Oil, Wheat, and Wobblies (1998) were not opened; they would be the best secondary tests of the counts.
Sources
| Title |
Publisher |
URL |
Supports |
Opened? |
| Green Corn Rebellion (Sellars) |
Oklahoma Historical Society |
https://www.okhistory.org/publications/enc/entry?entry=GR022 |
Dates, WCU, 3 dead, 400+ arrested, 150 convicted |
Yes |
| Treasonous Tenant Farmers and Seditious Sharecroppers, 27 Okla. City U. L. Rev. 1097 (2002) |
National Agricultural Law Center (hosting) |
https://nationalaglawcenter.org/publication/download/sellars-treasonous-tenant-farmers-and-seditious-sharecroppers-the-1917-green-corn-rebellion-trials-27-oklahoma-city-univ-l-rev-1097-1141-2002 |
458 arrested, 266 released, trial details, named lawyers and judge, Jones Family sentences |
Yes, truncated |
| Green Corn Rebellion |
Wikipedia |
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Corn_Rebellion |
450 detained, 266 released, 184 charged, 150 convicted, Aug 2 and 3 events |
Yes |
| When the Socialist Revolution Came to Oklahoma |
Smithsonian Magazine, 2019 |
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/socialist-revolution-oklahoma-crushed-green-corn-rebellion-180973073/ |
458 arrested, 86 sentenced, 28 at Leavenworth |
Yes |
| Oklahoma's dispossessed rebel against poverty (Chris Mahin) |
libcom.org |
https://files.libcom.org/files/US%20Green%20Corn%20rebellion%201917.pdf |
450 arrested, 184 indicted, 150 convicted, 1921 pardons |
Yes |
| The Green Corn Rebellion in Oklahoma (Bertha Hale White, 1922) |
The New Day, via marx.pp.ua |
https://marx.pp.ua/history/usa/parties/spusa/1922/0304-white-greencornreb.pdf |
175 sentenced at Ardmore |
Yes |
| Green Corn Rebellion |
Clio |
https://theclio.com/entry/118110 |
400 arrested, 150 convicted, 60 days to 10 years |
Yes |
| This Day in Labor History |
Lawyers, Guns & Money |
https://www.lawyersgunsmoneyblog.com/2022/08/this-day-in-labor-history-august-2-1917 |
"around 100" imprisoned |
Yes |
| Green Corn Rebellion |
The Oklahoma 100 |
https://theoklahoma100.com/?p=15270 |
86 sentenced |
Yes |
| Sellars, "With Folded Arms? Or With Squirrel Guns?" Chronicles of Oklahoma 77 (1999) |
Gateway to Oklahoma History |
https://gateway.okhistory.org/ark:/67531/metadc2031868/ |
Not read: robots rules blocked the full text |
No (blocked) |
Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.
3. Sources and their details
One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.
1. Green Corn Rebellion (Sellars)
- Publisher
- Oklahoma Historical Society
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://www.okhistory.org/publications/enc/entry?entry=GR022
- Supports
- Dates, WCU, 3 dead, 400+ arrested, 150 convicted
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
3. Green Corn Rebellion
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Corn_Rebellion
- Supports
- 450 detained, 266 released, 184 charged, 150 convicted, Aug 2 and 3 events
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
7. Green Corn Rebellion
- Publisher
- Clio
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://theclio.com/entry/118110
- Supports
- 400 arrested, 150 convicted, 60 days to 10 years
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
9. Green Corn Rebellion
- Publisher
- The Oklahoma 100
- Date
- not stated in the title; see the source
- URL
- https://theoklahoma100.com/?p=15270
- Supports
- 86 sentenced
- Opened by us
- Yes
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
10. Sellars, "With Folded Arms? Or With Squirrel Guns?" Chronicles of Oklahoma 77 (1999)
- Publisher
- Gateway to Oklahoma History
- Date
- 1999
- URL
- https://gateway.okhistory.org/ark:/67531/metadc2031868/
- Supports
- Not read: robots rules blocked the full text
- Opened by us
- No (blocked)
- Checked
- 2026-10-19
- Snapshot
- No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.
4. Every link used in the article
- Oklahoma Historical Society, Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture, entry by Nigel Sellars
https://www.okhistory.org/publications/enc/entry?entry=GR022
- Chris Mahin, "Oklahoma's dispossessed rebel against poverty and a 'rich man's war,'" via libcom.org
https://files.libcom.org/files/US%20Green%20Corn%20rebellion%201917.pdf
- Sellars, 2002 law review article, hosted by the National Agricultural Law Center
https://nationalaglawcenter.org/publication/download/sellars-treasonous-tenant-farmers-and-seditious-sharecroppers-the-1917-green-corn-rebellion-trials-27-oklahoma-city-univ-l-rev-1097-1141-2002
- Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Corn_Rebellion
- Smithsonian
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/socialist-revolution-oklahoma-crushed-green-corn-rebellion-180973073/
- Clio
https://theclio.com/entry/118110
- The Oklahoma 100
https://theoklahoma100.com/?p=15270
- Bertha Hale White, 1922 (Socialist Party official)
https://marx.pp.ua/history/usa/parties/spusa/1922/0304-white-greencornreb.pdf
- Lawyers, Guns & Money
https://www.lawyersgunsmoneyblog.com/2022/08/this-day-in-labor-history-august-2-1917
- https://gateway.okhistory.org/ark:/67531/metadc2031868/
https://gateway.okhistory.org/ark:/67531/metadc2031868/
5. Revision history
First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-22.
Corrections on the page
This page does not carry a correction table. Its change log is below.
Change log for the page
- 2026-10-27: Cases: add inline source links to 51 case pages (links only; a-tag-stripped pages identical to main)
- 2026-10-27: Point links that reached the old preview home at the current site
- 2026-10-25: TOC 1025 overlay
- 2026-10-25: Cases banner 1025c (73 pages) and members update 33
- 2026-10-22: Initial mirror of michiinstitute.com (partial crawl) plus deploy files
6. How to cite
The Way (Michi Institute). "Green Corn Rebellion (Seminole, Pontotoc and Hughes Counties, Oklahoma, August 1917)." Case 13, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-19. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/green-corn-rebellion.html
This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.
Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.