The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/flood-insurance.html

The Observatory · Case 63 · Public money · 1968 to today

National Flood Insurance Program (United States, 1968 to present)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-25. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-25
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=flood-insurance
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

Congress created federal flood insurance in 1968 because private insurers would not offer it; the program has since borrowed $22.5 billion from the Treasury, kept some rates below risk, and tried to reform through laws in 2012 and a pricing change in 2022, while experts disagree on who benefits and how much to charge.

In brief

In 1968 Congress created the National Flood Insurance Program because, in the statute's words, it was "uneconomic for the private insurance industry alone" to offer flood coverage. The program now covers more than 5 million policies. It owes the Treasury $22.525 billion after a $16 billion cancellation in 2017, and it has paid $6.17 billion in interest since 2005. Congress ordered a phase-out of below-risk rates in 2012, then capped increases in 2014, and FEMA moved to property-level pricing, called Risk Rating 2.0, in 2022. Experts disagree about the right balance. Some argue that low rates and repeat payments weaken incentives to avoid flood zones; others, including the National Academies, say affordability should be handled with targeted help rather than blanket subsidy, and that the data needed to target it do not exist. Sources also disagree on how many properties flood repeatedly: 1 percent, 2.5 percent or 3.8 percent of policies, depending on definition and year. The record shows a program whose costs are spread across borrowers and taxpayers and whose rating rules most owners do not see.

The record

The law and its purposes

Debt

Item Figure Source
Debt to Treasury $22.525 billion, as of the March 10, 2026 update CRS Insight IN10784
Borrowing limit $30.425 billion, set in 2013 after Hurricane Sandy; $7.9 billion remaining CRS Insight IN10784
Last borrowing listed $2 billion on February 10, 2025 CRS Insight IN10784
Cancelled $16 billion on October 26, 2017, so the program could pay claims from Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria (P.L. 115-72) CRS Insight IN10784
Principal repaid six repayments totaling $2.82 billion since 2005 CRS Insight IN10784
Interest paid $6.17 billion since 2005; about $619 million a year CRS Insight IN10784

(CRS, NFIP Borrowing Authority and a March 10, 2026 version; both opened.) Two other figures circulate. Pew's 2016 infographic gave "$23 billion" and a 2016 thesis by Kevin Starbuck gave $24 billion from the 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2012 hurricane seasons. Those were earlier snapshots before the 2017 cancellation and are not the current balance.

Reform laws and pricing

Timeline

Date Event Source
1968 National Flood Insurance Act (Title XIII, P.L. 90-448) CRS R45999
2005 to 2026 CRS counts $6.17 billion interest and six principal repayments over this period CRS IN10784
2012 Biggert-Waters Act begins subsidy phase-out P.L. 112-141; CRS
2013 Borrowing limit set at $30.425 billion after Hurricane Sandy CRS IN10784
2014 HFIAA caps increases and adds surcharges CRS R45999
Oct. 26, 2017 $16 billion of debt cancelled CRS IN10784
Apr. 1, 2022 Risk Rating 2.0 fully in effect CRS IN11777
Feb. 10, 2025 Most recent $2 billion borrowing CRS IN10784
Mar. 2026 GAO testimony: nine recommendations to FEMA and eight to Congress; four implemented GAO-26-109045 highlights

Repetitive-loss properties: figures differ

| Source | Share of insured properties | Share of claims | Period and definition | |---|---|---| | GAO-04-401T (2004) | about 1 percent of 4.4 million | about 38 percent of claim costs | 1978 to Nov. 2003; two or more claims of $1,000 or more | | Pew infographic (Oct. 2016, FEMA data Jan. 31, 2016) | 1 percent | about 25 to 30 percent of flood claims; more than 150,000 properties; more than $12.5 billion | two claims above $1,000 in any 10 years | | Starbuck thesis summary (Dec. 2016) | 3.8 percent of policyholders | 35.5 percent of claims, 30.5 percent of payments | FEMA data, 1978 to 2015 | | GAO-26-109045 highlights (Mar. 2026) | about 2.5 percent of policies | 48 percent of claim dollars | properties with two or more losses |

Sources used different definitions, years and denominators, so the figures cannot be averaged. Pew also reported that about 1 in 10 repeatedly flooded properties received payments worth more than their value (FEMA, DHS Inspector General, GAO and CRS figures compiled by Pew). Starbuck reported that about 90 percent of repetitive-loss properties receive pre-FIRM or grandfathered subsidies (a FEMA estimate cited in his summary). (GAO-04-401T; Pew; Starbuck, Homeland Security Affairs; GAO-26-109045; all opened)

Subsidized rates: figures differ

Source Figure
CRS R45999 (Sept. 2018 data) about 13 percent of policies pre-FIRM subsidy, 4 percent newly mapped, 9 percent grandfathered; no combined total given; FEMA had not updated since 2018
National Academies, Affordability Report 2 (2016) about 20 percent of policyholders in the pre-FIRM subsidized group within high-risk zones
Starbuck (2016) about 20 percent of policies pay 40 to 45 percent of full-risk premiums
Neptune Flood Research Group (reported Sept. 2026) about 1.5 million policies, 42 percent of the program, priced below full risk; about $2.6 billion a year of subsidy

(NAS Report 2; Insurance Business; opened. Neptune Flood is a private flood insurer; we opened the news report, not the study.)

Who benefits: named studies

What this case shows

  1. The program's written purpose was risk sharing plus land-use change, and the second half is hard to see. The statute says insurance should encourage sound land use. Debt, claims and rates are tracked; whether local land-use decisions changed is not shown in the sources we opened.
  2. Prices that sit below risk send a weaker signal to buyers. The National Academies report notes that grandfathering and non-risk-based classes weaken the signal for mitigation. The signal is hidden in a rating table most owners never read.
  3. Costs are shared widely and decided at a distance. The program borrowed $22.5 billion from the Treasury and had $16 billion cancelled by Congress in 2017. The people who bought policies, taxpayers who did not, and homeowners facing higher bills did not vote on those particular choices.
  4. Both reforms ran into the same affordability problem. Biggert-Waters ordered subsidies phased out and also ordered an affordability study (Sec. 100236). HFIAA 2014 added caps. NAS says current data cannot simulate means-tested help because income is not collected. A fix is hard to design when the data needed to design it is not held.
  5. Appeal rights are thin. CRS reports no appeal procedure for Risk Rating 2.0 premium changes.

The strongest objections, and our answers

  1. Objection: Subsidies protect families who cannot afford true risk prices. Mitigation: We state this. NAS recommends targeted assistance rather than blanket subsidy, and notes the affordability question is a policy choice about who counts as burdened.
  2. Objection: Risk-based prices are the only fair system. Mitigation: We state this too. Risk Rating 2.0 aims at property-specific risk. CRS says 77 percent of policyholders were projected to see increases and no appeal exists. Both facts are in the record, and we draw no conclusion about fairness.
  3. Objection: Moral hazard is overstated. Mitigation: The evidence is mixed. Starbuck's thesis argues that subsidies and repeat-loss coverage reduce incentives to mitigate. Landry et al. find a different effect, that expected disaster aid lowers insurance purchase ("charity hazard"). NAS says takeup responses to price changes are poorly documented. We do not claim moral hazard is proven.
  4. Objection: The debt is not a program failure but a result of catastrophic years. Mitigation: Starbuck reports that significant events account for most losses. We also note that interest of $6.17 billion has been paid since 2005, and $2.82 billion of principal repaid. We do not assign blame.
  5. Objection: Repetitive-loss statistics are inconsistent. Mitigation: Agreed. We tabulate four versions with definitions and do not choose one.
  6. Objection: The Neptune distribution figures come from an insurer. Mitigation: True. We label it as an industry source reported by a trade outlet and did not open the study itself.

Open questions: what would change our minds

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
42 U.S.C. 4001 Cornell Legal Information Institute https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/4001 Findings and purposes Yes
NFIP Borrowing Authority (IN10784), versions through March 10, 2026 Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/IN10784.html Debt, interest, cancellation Yes
Risk Rating 2.0 and NFIP (IN11777, May 2024) Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2024-05-28_IN11777_c90c105169618195e3fe99e5bc69c260cc6c22b2.html Pricing, caps Yes
NFIP report (R45999) Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R45999.html Origin, subsidies, HFIAA Yes
P.L. 112-141, 126 Stat. 405 U.S. Government Publishing Office https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/STATUTE-126/pdf/STATUTE-126-Pg405.pdf Biggert-Waters headings Yes, headings only
Affordability of NFIP Premiums, Report 2 (2016) National Academies https://www.nationalacademies.org/read/21848/chapter/2 Affordability, grandfathering Yes
GAO-04-401T, Repetitive Loss Properties U.S. GAO via GovInfo https://govinfo.gov/content/pkg/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-401T/html/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-401T.htm 1 percent, 38 percent Yes
GAO-26-109045 highlights U.S. GAO https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-26-109045-highlights.pdf 2.5 percent, 48 percent Yes
Repeatedly Flooded Properties Cost Billions (2016) Pew Charitable Trusts https://www.pew.org/-/media/assets/2016/10/repeatedly_flooded_properties_cost_billions.pdf Repetitive loss Yes
Moral Hazard: How the NFIP Is Limiting Risk Reduction (K. Starbuck, 2016) Homeland Security Affairs https://www.hsaj.org/articles/13755 Moral hazard view Yes
Flood Insurance Market Penetration and Expectations of Disaster Assistance (Landry et al., 2021) NSF Public Access Repository https://par.nsf.gov/servlets/purl/10297317 Charity hazard Yes
Who really benefits from NFIP's $2.6bn annual subsidy? Insurance Business https://www.insurancebusinessmag.com/us/news/catastrophe/who-really-benefits-from-nfips-2-6bn-annual-subsidy-589333.aspx Neptune distribution study Yes
FEMA Risk Rating 2.0 page FEMA https://www.fema.gov/flood-insurance/risk-rating Not read No, fetch failed

Evidence status and correction history

Key claims

Claim Status Source
Congress found private insurers alone could not offer flood coverage on reasonable terms Verified (primary source opened) 42 U.S.C. 4001
NFIA 1968 is Title XIII of P.L. 90-448 Verified (secondary only) CRS R45999
More than 5 million policies, 22,500 communities, about $4.6 billion revenue Verified (secondary only) CRS R45999
NFIP debt $22.525 billion as of March 10, 2026 Verified (secondary only) CRS IN10784
Borrowing limit $30.425 billion, set 2013 Verified (secondary only) CRS IN10784
$16 billion cancelled October 26, 2017 Verified (secondary only) CRS IN10784
$6.17 billion interest paid since 2005; $2.82 billion principal repaid Verified (secondary only) CRS IN10784
Biggert-Waters Act Title II headings include premium rate reform and affordability study Verified (primary source opened) 126 Stat. 405, headings only
HFIAA: 18 percent cap on primary residences, $25 and $250 surcharges Verified (secondary only) CRS R45999; CRS IN11777
Risk Rating 2.0 fully effective April 1, 2022 Verified (secondary only) CRS IN11777
No appeal procedure for Risk Rating 2.0 premium changes Verified (secondary only) CRS IN11777
Risk Rating 2.0 projected to raise premiums for 77 percent of policyholders Unverified (not confirmed) CRS R45999 cites a projection; FEMA original not opened
Repetitive loss share of properties and claims Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown): 1 percent and 38 percent (GAO 2004); 1 percent and 25 to 30 percent (Pew 2016); 3.8 percent and 35.5 percent (Starbuck 2016); 2.5 percent and 48 percent of dollars (GAO 2026) GAO; Pew; Starbuck
Share of policies with below-risk rates Disputed (sources disagree, each figure shown): about 26 percent combined from 13 + 4 + 9 percent (CRS 2018, our sum); about 20 percent (NAS 2016); 42 percent (Neptune, 2026) CRS; NAS; Insurance Business
About $2.6 billion a year of remaining subsidy Verified (secondary only) Insurance Business reporting Neptune; study not opened
Florida holds about 48 percent of the subsidy Verified (secondary only) Insurance Business reporting Neptune
Expected disaster aid made households 25 to 42 percent less likely to hold flood insurance Verified (secondary only) Landry et al. 2021 summary
GAO made nine recommendations to FEMA and eight to Congress; four implemented as of March 2026 Verified (secondary only) GAO-26-109045 highlights

Correction history

Date Change Reason
2026-10-25 First publication New case
2026-10-25 No earlier outside draft was available; debt figure uses the current CRS balance and not the $23 billion or $24 billion figures from 2016 sources Older figures predate the 2017 cancellation

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. 42 U.S.C. 4001

Publisher
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/4001
Supports
Findings and purposes
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. NFIP Borrowing Authority (IN10784), versions through March 10, 2026

Publisher
Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport
Date
2026
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/IN10784.html
Supports
Debt, interest, cancellation
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. Risk Rating 2.0 and NFIP (IN11777, May 2024)

Publisher
Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport
Date
2024
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/2024-05-28_IN11777_c90c105169618195e3fe99e5bc69c260cc6c22b2.html
Supports
Pricing, caps
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. NFIP report (R45999)

Publisher
Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/reports/R45999.html
Supports
Origin, subsidies, HFIAA
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. P.L. 112-141, 126 Stat. 405

Publisher
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/STATUTE-126/pdf/STATUTE-126-Pg405.pdf
Supports
Biggert-Waters headings
Opened by us
Yes, headings only
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. Affordability of NFIP Premiums, Report 2 (2016)

Publisher
National Academies
Date
2016
URL
https://www.nationalacademies.org/read/21848/chapter/2
Supports
Affordability, grandfathering
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. GAO-04-401T, Repetitive Loss Properties

Publisher
U.S. GAO via GovInfo
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://govinfo.gov/content/pkg/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-401T/html/GAOREPORTS-GAO-04-401T.htm
Supports
1 percent, 38 percent
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. GAO-26-109045 highlights

Publisher
U.S. GAO
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-26-109045-highlights.pdf
Supports
2.5 percent, 48 percent
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. Repeatedly Flooded Properties Cost Billions (2016)

Publisher
Pew Charitable Trusts
Date
2016
URL
https://www.pew.org/-/media/assets/2016/10/repeatedly_flooded_properties_cost_billions.pdf
Supports
Repetitive loss
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. Moral Hazard: How the NFIP Is Limiting Risk Reduction (K. Starbuck, 2016)

Publisher
Homeland Security Affairs
Date
2016
URL
https://www.hsaj.org/articles/13755
Supports
Moral hazard view
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

11. Flood Insurance Market Penetration and Expectations of Disaster Assistance (Landry et al., 2021)

Publisher
NSF Public Access Repository
Date
2021
URL
https://par.nsf.gov/servlets/purl/10297317
Supports
Charity hazard
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

12. Who really benefits from NFIP's $2.6bn annual subsidy?

Publisher
Insurance Business
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.insurancebusinessmag.com/us/news/catastrophe/who-really-benefits-from-nfips-2-6bn-annual-subsidy-589333.aspx
Supports
Neptune distribution study
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

13. FEMA Risk Rating 2.0 page

Publisher
FEMA
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.fema.gov/flood-insurance/risk-rating
Supports
Not read
Opened by us
No, fetch failed
Checked
2026-10-25
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-25.

Corrections on the page

DateChangeReason
2026-10-25First publicationNew case
2026-10-25No earlier outside draft was available; debt figure uses the current CRS balance and not the $23 billion or $24 billion figures from 2016 sourcesOlder figures predate the 2017 cancellation

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "National Flood Insurance Program (United States, 1968 to present)." Case 63, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-25. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/flood-insurance.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.