The Way research packet. Built 2026-10-28. Online version: https://michiinstitute.com/cases/community-health-centers.html

The Observatory · Case 42 · Public programs · 1965 to 2026

Neighborhood and community health centers (United States, 1965 to 2026)

Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked 2026-10-19. Preliminary research, not a final verdict.
In this packet
1. Review status · 2. The article · 3. Sources and their details · 4. Every link used · 5. Revision history · 6. How to cite

1. Review status

Status
Not yet reviewed by a person. This page was researched and written with the help of AI tools. Every key claim is labeled by evidence status near the end, but no person has checked the sources yet. Treat it as a draft.
Verified by
No one has verified this page yet. No verifier is recorded.
Sources checked
2026-10-19
Review history
https://michiinstitute.com/members/reviews.html?case=community-health-centers
Packet built
2026-10-28

2. The article

Two pilot clinics funded by the Office of Economic Opportunity in 1965 grew into a national network that served about 32 million patients by 2024, with patient-majority boards, mixed evidence on outcomes, and funding that depends on repeated short extensions.

In brief

In 1965 the federal Office of Economic Opportunity paid for two health centers, one in Mound Bayou, Mississippi, and one in a Boston housing project, after Dr. Jack Geiger and Dr. Count Gibson of Tufts argued that medical care could be brought to poor communities. Mississippi's governor called outside federal intervention "completely unacceptable," and the Mound Bayou center had to organize an in state trust to operate. Today federal law requires health centers to sit in underserved areas, charge by income, and have boards that are at least 51% patients. In 2024, more than 32 million people used them. A study of the 1965 to 1974 rollout found lower mortality among adults 50 and older in counties with a center, but little effect on children. Later quality comparisons are mixed by patient mix. Much of the money still comes through a fund that Congress extends in short pieces. Patient counts show reach. They do not by themselves show better health.

The record

Origins

Legal framework today

Timeline

Date Event Source
Dec. 1964 Geiger proposes the Delta model at Greenville AMA Journal of Ethics
Feb. 1965 Proposal for a southern rural center goes to OEO CHC Chronicles
June 1965 OEO funds Delta and Columbia Point CHC Chronicles
1966 Governor Johnson opposes; Tufts forms in state trust Tufts
Nov. 1967 Mound Bayou clinical services begin CHC Chronicles
1971 to 1972 Sponsor changes to SUNY Stony Brook; Tufts-Delta ends Tufts; CHC Chronicles
1973 More than 200 centers CHC Chronicles
1975 OEO dissolved; centers move to the Department of Health, Education and Welfare CHC Chronicles
2011 Affordable Care Act creates the Community Health Center Fund Withum
Mar. 2025 Fund extended through Sept. 30, 2025 at $4.26 billion annualized Withum
Jan. 30, 2026 Fund then set to expire; status since then not checked Withum

Size: figures differ by source and year

Item Figure Source
Patients, 2014 about 22.9 million; over 10,000 sites; 71.2% at or below poverty CRS 2016
Patients, 2024 more than 32.4 million; 15.6 million (48%) on Medicaid Geiger Gibson program, George Washington University, summarizing HRSA data
Patients, HRSA page "2025 highlights" 32.7 million in page body, 32.4 million in meta description; about 1,400 health centers; over 16,200 sites; 90% at or below 200% of poverty HRSA data page; opened
Number of centers, 1973 / 2010 more than 200 / about 1,200 CHC Chronicles
Funding, Section 330 about one fifth of a typical center's operating costs (2016); Medicaid largest revenue source (about 41.7% in FY2015) CRS 2016
Funding, Community Health Center Fund about 70% of federal funding to health centers Withum

The HRSA UDS national page could not be fetched (robots restriction); figures come from the pages above. (Geiger Gibson, 2024 UDS highlights; opened)

Evidence on outcomes

What this case shows

  1. Built for the people left out. The first centers were placed where private care was thin: rural Mississippi and a Boston housing project. The design asked who had no regular care and put the clinic there. (CHC Chronicles)
  2. Governance gave patients a vote. Federal rules require that at least 51% of board members be patients. That puts people who use the service into decisions on hours, budgets and the director. (HRSA)
  3. Local voice could change the sponsor. In 1970 the Delta community council voted to replace Tufts as sponsor. That is a concrete case of residents using a formal body to change an institution. (Tufts)
  4. Public numbers exist, but depend on who reports. HRSA collects a Uniform Data System each year. The record shows patient counts, but patients served alone does not show health gains. The best causal work uses the county by county rollout. (NBER 20653)
  5. Funding is voted on, repeatedly, in short pieces. A large share of federal support runs through a fund that Congress extends for months or a few years at a time, which makes it hard for centers and patients to plan. (Withum)

The strongest objections, and our answers

  1. Objection: Patients served does not prove better health. Agreed. The case uses the 1965 to 1974 rollout study for causal claims and treats later quality comparisons as descriptive. Mitigation: we report the authors' limits, including that infant and child mortality showed little change.
  2. Objection: The mortality study is a working paper and rough. The authors call their per patient conversions rough and say mortality understates benefits. Mitigation: we state it as one study, not a settled number. The published version was not opened.
  3. Objection: Centers are less efficient than alternatives, or costs are unclear. CRS says reasons for cost differences are debated. Cost per life year of $54,000 depends on the assumption that mortality is the only outcome. Mitigation: both limits are stated. We did not find or open a study that compared centers with private practice on cost with matched patients.
  4. Objection: Quality varies, and some centers lag. The 2013 brief found lower performance where uninsured and homeless shares were high. Mitigation: we state it as variation linked to patient mix, not as a verdict on staff.
  5. Objection: Federal funding crowds out local or private care, or the model was a political project. The governor's 1966 objection called federal intervention "completely unacceptable" and wanted assurance of no civil rights activity. Mitigation: we report the state's position and that Tufts agreed to an advisory committee. We do not claim the centers were non political.
  6. Objection: Geographic gaps remain. Yes. Rural and underserved areas may still lack a site. Mitigation: we did not find an open dataset on counties without a center, and list it in Section 5.

Open questions: what would change our minds

Sources

Title Publisher URL Supports Opened?
Delta Health Center history CHC Chronicles https://www.chcchronicles.org/node/1702 1965 funding, timeline Yes
Light on the Hill, vol. II Tufts University Digital Library https://dl.tufts.edu/teiviewer/parent/70795k34d/chapter/c20s2 Governor, sponsor change Yes
History of the Medical Committee for Human Rights AMA Journal of Ethics https://journalofethics.ama-assn.org/sites/joedb/files/2018-06/mhst1-1409.pdf Geiger, Gibson, Kennedy Yes
Federal Health Centers: An Overview (R43937) Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/20160106_R43937_57541532252de4f70e3b19c869ef785ca5b3b840.html Requirements, funding, outcomes Yes, partial
Board Composition HRSA https://bphc.hrsa.gov/es/node/1807 51% rule Yes
The War on Poverty's Experiment in Public Medicine (NBER WP 20653) NBER https://www.nber.org/system/files/working_papers/w20653/w20653.pdf Mortality study Yes
Quality of Care in Community Health Centers KFF https://www.kff.org/affordable-care-act/quality-of-care-in-community-health-centers-and-factors-associated-with-performance/ Quality comparison Yes, summary
2024 Community Health Center UDS Highlights Geiger Gibson Program, GWU https://geigergibson.publichealth.gwu.edu/node/2301 32.4 million patients Yes
Health center data highlights HRSA https://data.hrsa.gov/topics/health-centers/ 32.7 million, sites Yes
HRSA UDS national overview HRSA https://data.hrsa.gov/topics/health-centers/uds/overview/national Initial lead No, blocked
Impending Expiration of the Community Health Center Fund Withum https://www.withum.com/resources/impending-chcf-expiration-presents-financial-uncertainty-for-fqhcs/ Fund history, 70% Yes
Health Center Funding Cliff (2017) Public Health Post https://publichealthpost.org/health-equity/health-center-funding-cliff/ Earlier cliff Yes

Found an error or a better source? We keep every correction on the record with its date and reason. Nothing here is quietly rewritten.

3. Sources and their details

One entry per source in the page's Sources table. "Checked" is the date the page says its sources were checked. A Wayback link and SHA-256 appear only where a snapshot has been recorded.

1. Delta Health Center history

Publisher
CHC Chronicles
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.chcchronicles.org/node/1702
Supports
1965 funding, timeline
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

2. Light on the Hill, vol. II

Publisher
Tufts University Digital Library
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://dl.tufts.edu/teiviewer/parent/70795k34d/chapter/c20s2
Supports
Governor, sponsor change
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

3. History of the Medical Committee for Human Rights

Publisher
AMA Journal of Ethics
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://journalofethics.ama-assn.org/sites/joedb/files/2018-06/mhst1-1409.pdf
Supports
Geiger, Gibson, Kennedy
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

4. Federal Health Centers: An Overview (R43937)

Publisher
Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.everycrsreport.com/files/20160106_R43937_57541532252de4f70e3b19c869ef785ca5b3b840.html
Supports
Requirements, funding, outcomes
Opened by us
Yes, partial
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Board Composition

Publisher
HRSA
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://bphc.hrsa.gov/es/node/1807
Supports
51% rule
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

6. The War on Poverty's Experiment in Public Medicine (NBER WP 20653)

Publisher
NBER
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.nber.org/system/files/working_papers/w20653/w20653.pdf
Supports
Mortality study
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

7. Quality of Care in Community Health Centers

Publisher
KFF
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.kff.org/affordable-care-act/quality-of-care-in-community-health-centers-and-factors-associated-with-performance/
Supports
Quality comparison
Opened by us
Yes, summary
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

8. 2024 Community Health Center UDS Highlights

Publisher
Geiger Gibson Program, GWU
Date
2024
URL
https://geigergibson.publichealth.gwu.edu/node/2301
Supports
32.4 million patients
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

9. Health center data highlights

Publisher
HRSA
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://data.hrsa.gov/topics/health-centers/
Supports
32.7 million, sites
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

10. HRSA UDS national overview

Publisher
HRSA
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://data.hrsa.gov/topics/health-centers/uds/overview/national
Supports
Initial lead
Opened by us
No, blocked
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

11. Impending Expiration of the Community Health Center Fund

Publisher
Withum
Date
not stated in the title; see the source
URL
https://www.withum.com/resources/impending-chcf-expiration-presents-financial-uncertainty-for-fqhcs/
Supports
Fund history, 70%
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

12. Health Center Funding Cliff (2017)

Publisher
Public Health Post
Date
2017
URL
https://publichealthpost.org/health-equity/health-center-funding-cliff/
Supports
Earlier cliff
Opened by us
Yes
Checked
2026-10-19
Snapshot
No snapshot or SHA-256 recorded in this packet yet.

5. Revision history

First published (earliest change on record): 2026-10-22.

Corrections on the page

This page does not carry a correction table. Its change log is below.

Change log for the page

6. How to cite

The Way (Michi Institute). "Neighborhood and community health centers (United States, 1965 to 2026)." Case 42, The Observatory. Sources checked 2026-10-19. Packet built 2026-10-28. https://michiinstitute.com/cases/community-health-centers.html

This is preliminary research. Before relying on a claim, cite and check the primary source it points to. To save as a PDF: use your browser's Print and choose Save as PDF.

Not left. Not right. We are The Way. A nonpartisan research project, not a political party.